England make one change while Wales shuffle their pack

England have made just one change to the starting XV that narrowly lost to South Africa, with Owen Farrell replacing the injured Toby Flood, while Dan Carter returns for the All Blacks in place of Aaron Cruden.

Courtney Lawes also returns to the England fold after being absent through injury since the 6 Nations, he will sit on the bench alongside Freddie Burns who is in line for his debut.

Burns has set the Premiership alight with his performances for Gloucester but a debut against the All Blacks will be sure to be the toughest test he’s faced in his short career.

Along with Carter, the All Blacks have made a further two changes to the side that beat Wales with Retallick coming in for Romano and Kevin Mealamu replacing the suspended Andrew Hore.

Hore has been given a five-week ban for striking Wales’ Bradley Davies who has had to withdraw from the Wales squad due to injury sustained in the incident. Davies will be replaced by Ian Evans in one of four changes to the side last week.

Gethin Jenkins comes back into the side in place of the unavailable Paul James while at tighthead Scott Andrews comes in for the injured Aaron Jarvis.

The Welsh backline is retained from the New Zealand game, but in the back row Ryan Jones drops out just two weeks after he broke the Welsh captaincy record. Aaron Shingler, who impressed as a substitute last week, replaces him.

Wales’ opponents, Australia, have made three changes to the side that narrowly defeated Italy last week. David Pocock replaces the excellent Michael Hooper after recovering from an injury that has kept him out since August.

In the second row Kane Douglas replaces Sitaleki Timani wo is banned after striking Andrea Lo Cicero last week, while Stephen Moore is replaced at hooker by Tatafu Polota-Nau.

Squads for this weekend’s International Fixtures:


15. Goode, 14. Ashton, 13. Tuilagi, 12. Barritt, 11. Brown, 10. Farrell, 9. B.Youngs; 1. Corbisiero, 2. T.Youngs, 3. Cole, 4. Launchbury, 5. Parling, 6. Wood, 7. Robshaw (captain), 8. Morgan. 

16. Paice, 17. Wilson, 18. Vunipola, 19. Lawes, 20. Haskell, 21. Care, 22. Burns, 23. Joseph.


15. Halfpenny; 14. Cuthbert, 13. Davies, 12. Roberts, 11. Williams; 10. Priestland, 9. Phillips; 1. Jenkins, 2. Rees, 3. Andrews, 4. Evans, 5. Charteris, 6. Shingler, 7. Warburton (captain), 8. Faletau. 

16. Owens, 17. Bevington, 18. Lee, 19. Jones, 20. Tipuric, 21. Knoyle, 22. Biggar, 23. Williams.

New Zealand:

15. Dagg; 14 Jane, 13 Smith, 12 Nonu, 11 Savea; 10 Carter, 9 Smith; 1 Woodcock, 2 Mealamu, 3 Franks, 4 Retallick, 5 Whitelock, 6 Messam, 7 McCaw (captain), 8 Read. 

16 Coles, 17 Crockett, 18 Faumuina, 19 Romano, 20 Vito, 21 Weepu, 22 Cruden, 23 Smith.


15 Barnes, 14 Cummins, 13 Ashley-Cooper, 12 Tapuai, 11 Mitchell, 10 Beale, 9 Phipps, 8 Palu, 7 Pocock, 6 Higginbotham, 5 Sharpe (captain), 4 Douglas, 3 Alexander, 2 Polota Nau, 1 Robinson.

16 Moore, 17 Slipper, 18 Kepu, 19 Dennis, 20 Hooper, 21 McKibbin, 22 Harris, 23 Ioane.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top