England and Wales grouped together in World Cup Draw

The 2015 World Cup draw was made today after much anticipation following the seeding’s battle that was the Autumn Internationals.

Probably the most talked about group will be Pool A, where England and Wales have been paired together alongside Australia. With only two to qualify from each group in means that one side will be guaranteed to miss out on a quarter final.

They will be joined in Pool A by the first Oceania qualifier and the winner of the playoff.

Scotland are in pool B after finding themselves in the third band of seeds following a dismal Autumn but will probably feel they have got off lightly after getting Samoa as their second seeds rather than England, Ireland or Argentina.

It will be a tough group though, with South Africa joining Samoa as Scotland’s opponents in what will be a physical pool. The first Asian qualifier and second qualifier from the Americas will make up the rest of the pool.

Ireland are in Pool D where they will face France and Italy and along with the first Americas qualifier and second European qualifier. In theory it ought to be one of the easier pools to get out of, but with the tournament three years away much could change between now and then.

Pool C includes holders New Zealand along with Argentina and Tonga while Europe and Africa’s primary qualifiers will join them.

Full World Cup Draw:

Pool A: Australia, England, Wales, Oceania 1, Playoff Winner

Pool B: South Africa, Samoa, Scotland, Asia 1, Americas 2

Pool C: New Zealand, Argentina, Tonga, Europe 1, Africa 1

Pool D: France, Ireland, Italy, Americas 1, Europe 2

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top