England & Scotland name ‘A’ & U20’s sides

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The England Saxons and Scotland A have both named their side for their fixture at Kingston Park on Friday night.

Last season Scotland won the corresponding fixture 35-0, and they have stated their intention to repeat that performance and create some momentum for the senior side the following day at Twickenham.

In that spirit, six of the side that played in the game at Netherdale last year return; Alex Grove, Jon Welsh, Tom Ryder, Stuart McInally, Richie Vernon and Ryan Wilson.

It is an experienced squad, with seven players having gained full international caps, including Sale Sharks due Alasdair Dickinson and Richie Vernon who have 44 between them.

Tom Heathcote who made his full debut during the autumn internationals is starting at fly half, while young Sean Kennedy is at nine.

England meanwhile have made just two changes from the side that beat the Irish Wolfhounds 14-10 last week, with Matt Mullan replacing Nick Wood, who drops to the bench, and Jonny May taking the place of Wasps flyer Christian Wade.

Elsewhere it is much the same, Jordan Crane captains the side and Joel Tompkins continues to learn his trade at outside centre, while Wasps’ Elliot Daly remains at full back.

Last weeks try scoring hero Will Fraser remains at seven and Richard Wigglesworth wins the battle for the scrum half shirt over Joe Simpson once again.

Ahead of this game the two nations Under 20’s teams will be taking each other on down in Plymouth.

Jonny Gray, younger brother of International star Richie, captains Scotland from the second row, whilst England are captained by their number 8, Jack Clifford.

Both games are live on Sky Sports.

Scotland A:

15 Greig Tonks (Edinburgh Rugby)

14 Duncan Taylor (Saracens)
13 Alex Grove (Worcester Warriors)
12 Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors)
11 Nikki Walker (Worcester Warriors)
10 Tom Heathcote (Bath Rugby)
9 Sean Kennedy (Glasgow Warriors)

1 Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks)
2 Steven Lawrie (Edinburgh Rugby)
3 Jon Welsh (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Tom Ryder (Glasgow Warriors)
5 Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors)
6 Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby)
7 Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks)
8 Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors, captain). 

Replacements: 16 Alun Walker (Edinburgh Rugby)
17 Grant Shiells (Newcastle Falcons)
18 Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors)
19 Robert McAlpine (Edinburgh Rugby)
20 James Eddie (Glasgow Warriors)
21 Jamie Stevenson (London Scottish)
22 Ben Cairns (Edinburgh Rugby)
23 Dougie Fife (Edinburgh Rugby).

England Saxons:

15 Elliot Daly (London Wasps) 
14 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby) 
13 Joel Tomkins (Saracens) 
12 Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins) 
11 Tom Biggs (Bath Rugby) 
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers) 
9 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

1 Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors) 
2 Joe Gray (Harlequins) 
3 Paul Doran-Jones (Northampton Saints) 
4 Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers) 
5 George Robson (Harlequins) 
6 George Kruis (Saracens) 
7 Will Fraser (Saracens) 
8 Jordan Crane (Leicester Tigers, captain). 

Replacements: 16 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins) 
17 Nick Wood (Gloucester Rugby) 
18 Kieran Brookes (Leicester Tigers) 
19 Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers) 
20 Jamie Gibson (London Irish) 
21 Joe Simpson (London Wasps) 
22 George Lowe (Harlequins)
23 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby).

England Under-20s:

15 Anthony Watson, 14 Jack Arnott, 13 Harry Sloan, 12 Sam Hill, 11 Ben Howard, 10 Henry Slade, 9 Alex Day, 1 Luke Cowan-Dickie, 2 Max Crumpton, 3 Kyle Sinckler, 4 Elliott Stooke, 5 Dom Barrow, 6 Ross Moriarty, 7 Joel Conlon, 8 Jack Clifford (c).

Replacements: 16 Danny Herriott, 17 Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi, 18 Scott Wilson, 19 Tom Jubb, 20 Gus Jones, 21 Nathan Fowles, 22 Will Hooley, 23 Mark Jennings.

Scotland Under-20s:

15 Keith Buchan, 14 Damian Hoyland, 13 Chris Auld, 12 Mark Bennett, 11 Rory Hughes, 10 Tommy Allan, 9 Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, 1 Jamie Bhatti, 2 Russell Anderson, 3 D’arcy Rae, 4 Jonny Gray (c), 5 Adam Sinclair, 6 Ruaridh Leishman, 7 Will Bordill, 8 Adam Ashe. 

Replacements: 16 Calum Black, 17 Shawn Muir, 18 Phil Cringle, 19 Cameron Turner, 20 Tommy Spinks, 21 Ali Price, 22 Alex Hagart, 23 Robbie Fergusson.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles




Back to top