Thrilling games see the U18 Premiership spark into life


For the first time since the opening round of the campaign, all six U18 Aviva Premiership matches went ahead this weekend, and what a delight that they did, there were some stunning matches.

Saracens went top of the Southern conference after a thrilling 34-21 victory over Bath, who still sit winless at the foot of the table.

Saracens’ two biggest rivals at the top of the table, Exeter and Wasps, both recorded also recorded wins. Wasps beat Bristol 40-24 in an absolute thriller at Maidenhead RFC, where the new 4G pitch helped the two teams produce some exciting running rugby.

The Chiefs meanwhile dug out a tough 20-10 victory away at London Irish to give them three wins out of three. Their 10-5 win against Saracens last week making them the favourites for the Southern conference in many spectators eyes.

In the Northern conference it is still Sale Sharks who look like the most credible contenders to Leicester’s assault on the title, the Sharks recorded a 14-0 victory over Worcester at Sixways to remain unbeaten in the league this season.

Northampton Saints recorded their first win of the campaign with a brutal 40-25 victory over Leeds Carnegie to go shooting up the table. Leeds are something of an enigma having beaten Saracens in a mid season friendly, yet they are without a win in the league.

Finally, perhaps most thrillingly of all, Newcastle travelled down to Hartpury College to take on a Gloucester side packed with talent, and unbeaten so far. The Falcons put the home side under tremendous pressure though and came away with a very credible 23 all draw.

Next week is an exciting time for the U18 league, with three of the six fixtures taking place of their 1st XV Premiership grounds as Saracens host London Irish at Allianz Park on Sunday 10th while Northampton travel to Sixways on the Saturday to play Worcester.

On Monday Bath will host Bristol under the lights at the recreation ground in maybe the most hotly anticipated U18 fixture of the season, the West Country derby.

Also taking place next weekend are; Leicester v Sale at Oval Park and Wasps v Harlequins at Egerton Road, both on Saturday. On Sunday Leeds host Newcastle Falcons.

U18 Premiership Results:

Northampton Saints 40-25 Leeds Carnegie

Bristol 24-40 London Wasps

London Irish 10-20 Exeter Chiefs

Worcester Warriors 0-14 Sale Sharks

Saracens 34-21 Bath

Gloucester 23-23 Newcastle Falcons

U18 Premiership Fixtures:

Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks – Saturday

London Wasps v Harlequins – Saturday

Worcester Warriors v Northampton Saints – Saturday

Saracens v London Irish – Sunday

Leeds Carnegie v Newcastle Falcons – Sunday

Bath v Bristol – Monday

Weekend 2/2/13 Line-ups:


15. Nick Rawsthorne (Prince Henry’s Grammar School) 14. Rob Rekis (PHGS)
13. Cameron Leadley (PHGS) 12. Josh Walters (PHGS)
11. Dan Tai (PHGS)
10. Max Green (PHGS) 9. Sam Gaudie (PHGS); 1. Lewis Boyce (PHGS) 2. Jack Walker (PHGS)
3. Jake Armstrong (Leeds Met) 4. Will Witty
5. Declan Dunn (PHGS)
6. Josh Bainbridge (PHGS)
7. Jack Barnard (c)
(PHGS) 8. Dan Grange (PHGS).

Replacements: 16. Toko Tedoradze (PHGS)
17. Issac Cracknell (Crossley Heath)
18. Paul Hill (PHGS)
19. Dan Preston-Routledge (PHGS)
20. Brodie Wilson (Crossley Heath)
21. Tom Burridge (PHGS)
22. TBC
23. TBC.


15. Howard Packman (Moulton College) 14. Alex Wootton 13. Lewis Jones (Moulton College) 12. Harry Mallinder (Rugby) 11. Josh Skelcey
10. Sam Olver (Oundle) 9. Lewis Hall;
1. Simon Uzokwe (Ipswich School) 2. Reece Marshall (Moulton College) 3. Ollie Lamprell (Oundle) 4. Jordan Onojaife (Stowe) 5. Karl Wilkins (St Jospeh’s College) 6. Steve Arroyo-Hover (Moulton College) 7. Sam Harry 8. Jack Allcock.

16. James Fish 17. Harry Morley (Moulton College) 18. Calum Miller (Moulton College) 19. Josh Peters (Oundle) 20. Harry Betts (Oakham) 21. Ollie Lyons (Bedford) 22. Ben Pointon (Rugby) 23. Ashley Elvers.

Bristol: Team not released


15. Louis Clayton-Molloy (Harrow) 14. Tom Howe (Shiplake) 13. Alex Harrison (c) 12. Dan Barnes 11. Joel Harvey (Harrow) 10. James Grist 9. Danny Williams; 1. Beno Obano (Dulwich College) 2. George Davis (Shiplake) 3. George Edgson (Hartpury College) 4. Jake O’Learly 5. Tom Kynge 6. Jackson Burton 7. Connor Morrison 8. Oskar Hirsky-Douglas.

Replacements: 16. Ryan Cole 17. Tom West 18. Will Stuart 19. Shek Sherrif 20. Matt Blandford (Tonbridge) 21. Kieran Duffin 22. Sam Isaacs 23. Peter Moore.

London Irish:

1. George Sewell (St Pauls Catholic College) 2. Ollie Adams (St Pauls CC) 3. Ryan Wilkie (St Pauls CC) 4. Theo Vukaninovic (Reeds School) 5. Ollie Curry (Hartpury College) 6. Lorcan Dow (Whitgift School) 7. Max Berry (St Pauls CC) 8. Tom McDonald (c) (St Pauls CC); 
9. Ed Hoadley (St Pauls CC) 10. Charlie Wicks (Wellington College) 11. Harry Lightfoot (St Pauls CC) 12. Ross Catlin (Wellington College) 13. Tom Fowlie (St Pauls CC) 14. Jordan Gott (St Pauls CC) 15. Jacob Knight (St Pauls CC).

Replacements: 16. Max Hayes (Wellington College) 17. Joel Armitage (St Pauls CC) 
18. George Frampton (St Pauls CC) 19. Ryan Bifield (St Pauls CC) 20. James McRae (Eton College) 
21. Connor Murphy (St Pauls CC) 22. Brett Heron (Wellington College) 23. Cameron Cowell (St Pauls CC).

Exeter Chiefs: Team not released


15. Will Hayward (Hartpury College) 14. Robson Skipsey (St Peter’s, Gloucester) 13. Ollie Thorley (Cheltenham College) 12. Harry Priestner (Rendcomb College) 11. Jack Lawthorn  (Hartpury College) 10. Tiff Eden (Dean Close) 9. Reece Boughton (Hartpury College); 1. Will Goodrick-Clarke (Cheltenham College) 2. Ryan Charles (Hartpury College) 3. Alex Clarey (Hartpury College) 4. Jonny Hill (Hartpury College) 5. Simon Linsell (Marling) 6. Will Safe (Hartpury College) 7. Mike Luxton 8. Lewis Ludlow (Hartpury College).

Replacements: 16. Syd Haskayne (Cheltenham Tigers) 17. Kieran Routledge (Abingdon) 18. Jack Spencer (Hartpury College) 19. Nial Gibbons (Hartpury College) 20. Ollie Young (Sir Thomas Rich’s) 21. Joe Carolan  (Sir Thomas Rich’s) 22. Jo Gare 23. Tom Griffiths (Hartpury College).

Newcastle: Team not released


15. Jon Hughes (RGS Worcester) 14. Jackson Hughes (Lawrence Sheriff) 13. James Young (Bromsgrove) 12. Jack Wardle 11. Colin Dickson (Ellesmere College) 10. Elliott Davies (Bromsgrove) 9. George De Coth; 1. Joe Wrafter (Worcester 6th form College) 2. Callum Young (Bromsgrove) 3. Jack Cosgrove 4. Huw Taylor (Old Swinford Hospital) 5. Will Elt (King’s Worcester) 6. Sam Smith (Old Swinford Hospital) 7. Andrew Boyce (King’s Worcester) 8. Louis Chaudron (Ellesmere College).

Replacements: 16. James Gunther (Worcester 6th form College) 17. Dave Whiting (Worcester 6th form College) 18. Lewis Hodnett (Shrewsbury) 19. Matt Perks (Dudley Kingswinford) 20. Josh Feek (Old Swinford Hospital) 21. Luke White (Tarporley High School)  22. Ted Parker (Ellesmere College) 23. Ben Penfold (Hartpury College).

Sale: Team not released


1. Tom Webb (Oaklands College) 2. Sam James (Bishop Stortford High School) 3. Jeremy Reason (Dulwich College) 4. Kennet O’Neill (Oaklands College) 5. Ben Patterson (Oaklands College) 6. Charlie Kingham (Felsted) 7. Matt Eliet (Tonbridge) 8. Hayden Stringer; 9. Ben Calder 10. Josh Sharp (Oaklands College) 11. George Perkins 12. Elliott Reeder 13. Nick Tompkins (Oaklands College) 14. Aaron Morris 15. Nathan Earle (Oaklands College).

Replacements: 16. Josh Taylor 17. Jack Singleton 18. Sam Kenny 19. Henry Wheadon 20. James Thacker 21. Jack Maplesden (Woodhouse Grove) 22. Mark Lawrence 23. Joss Linney (Uppingham).

Bath: Team not released.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top