Connect with us

School Rugby

England name Under 18 side to face Scotland in semi final

John Fletcher has named his England Under 18 side to face Scotland in the FIRA/AER European Championship Semi Final tomorrow.

There are 11 changes from the side that beat Portugal 82-8 on Friday as the coaching team looks to freshen things up.

Speaking ahead of the game Forwards Coach Pete Walton said:

“We enjoyed a good win against Portugal, there are areas to work on, but we scored 14 tries so there are a lot of positives to take out of it. We had a lot of fresh faces in the squad and they all gelled together very well.”

England beat Scotland 57-12 earlier in the month but Walton is confident that it will be a far sterner test this time around:

“We know that Scotland have improved since we last played them, and we played very well that day, so it’s up to us to match that performance, or better it.”

Charlie Ewels, who captained the side on Friday, remains in the side but switches from Number 8 to flanker, with James Chisolm of Brighton College coming in as Number 8 and captain. Ewels’ Bryanston and Bath teammate, Rory Jennings, also remains in the side but he too switches position, moving from fly half to centre as Oaklands College’s Josh Sharp steps in at number ten.

King’s Worcester’s Andrew Boyce is the only person who remains in the side and retains his position; once again the Worcester Warrior starts at 7. Tom Fowlie of St Paul’s Catholic College is the only other player to remain from the Portugal victory, he moves from centre to the wing.

Despite scoring a hat-trick against Portugal, Moulton College’s Josh Skelcey drops down to the bench to accommodate Fowlie’s switch to the wing, with Saracens and Oaklands’ star Nick Tompkins coming into the centres.

England have also named their Under 18 Clubs and Schools XV to play Ireland on the 30th March, the side includes Felsted School Number 8 Charlie Kingham who was in action on Daily Mail Finals day at the weekend.

England Under 18 v Scotland:

15. Howard Packman (Northampton Saints & Moulton College)
14. Tom Howe (London Wasps & Shiplake College)
13. Nick Tompkins (Saracens & Oaklands College)
12. Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby & Bryanston School)
11. Tom Fowlie (London Irish & St Paul’s Catholic College)
10. Josh Sharp (Saracens & Oaklands College)
9. Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs & Ivybridge College); 1. Luke Chapman (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)
2. Jack Walker (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
3. Paul Hill (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
4. Jordan Onojaife (Northampton Saints & Stowe School)
5. Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby & Bryanston School)
6. Andrew Hughes (Sale Sharks & Hartpury College)
7. Andrew Boyce (Worcester Warriors & Kings Worcester)
8. James Chisholm (Harlequins & Brighton College) (c).

Replacements 16. Sam James (Saracens & Bishops Stortford)
17. Lewis Boyce (Leeds Carnegie & Prince Henry’s Grammar)
18. Neale Farthing (Leicester Tigers & Wyggeston & Queen Elizabeth College)
19. Josh Peters (Northampton Saints & Oundle School)
20. Matt Bolwell (Exeter Chiefs & Truro College)
21. James Mitchell (Sale Sharks & Lymm School)
22. Josh Skelcey (Northampton Saints & Moulton College)
23. Louis Clayton-Molloy (London Wasps & Harrow School).

England Under 18 Clubs & Schools v Ireland:

15. Tom Penny (Alnwick RFC, RGS Newcastle, North) 14. Sean Brown (Darlington Mowden Park RFC, North) 13. Aaron Morris (Bedford Blues RFC, Biddenham Upper School, Midlands) 12. Oliver Fewtrell (Derby RFC, Queen Elizabeth GS, Midlands) 11. Colin Dickson (Worcester Warriors, Ellesmere College, Midlands) 10. Tom Morton (Sale Sharks, Stockport GS, North) 9. Jack Maplesdon (Saracens, Woodhouse Grove School, North); 1. Aston Whitlow (Alnwick RFC, Gosforth Academy, North) 2. Charlie Piper (Harlequins, Cranleigh School, London & SE) 3. Alistair Wade (Camberley RFC, Godalming College, London & SE) 4. Dan Preston-Routledge (Leeds Carnegie RFC, Prince Henry’s GS, North) 5. Simon Linsell (Gloucester RFC, Marling School, South West) (c) 6. Oliver Hodgson (Middlesbrough RFC, Gosforth Academy, North) 7. Harry McCartney (London Wasps, Henley College, South West) 8. Charlie Kingham (Saracens, Felsted School, London & SE).

Replacements: 16. Callum Lynch (Walcot RFC, Beechen Cliff School, South West) 17. Dan Hyams (Mellish RFC, Arnold Hill Academy, Midlands) 18. Finlay Hillicks (Harlequins, College of Richard Collyer, London & SE) 19. Sam Smith (Worcester Warriors, Old Swinford Hospital, Midlands) 20. Lewis Jones (Dunstable RFC, Moulton College, Midlands) 21. Ben Pointon (Northampton Saints, Rugby School, Midlands) 22. Jordan Gott (London Irish, St. Pauls Catholic College, London & SE).

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Advertisement Enter ad code here

More in School Rugby

Skip to toolbar