England & Australia announce teams

England and Australia have named their side for the QBE International clash at Twickenham on Saturday.

England have handed a debut to Joel Tomkins at outside centre. He is partnered by Billy Twelvetrees while Owen Farrell starts inside them at fly half with the in form Lee Dickson selected at scrum half ahead of Ben Youngs.

Another in form man recalled to the starting XV is Courtney Lawes in the second row, he partners Joe Launchbury in the engine room with Bath’s Dave Attwood warming the bench.

In the front row Tom Youngs gets the nod ahead of Northampton Saints’ Dylan Hartley, whilst Dan Cole and Mako Vunipola start at prop as expected.

Marland Yarde makes his home debut on the left wing while Chris Ashton look to bounce back from a difficult year last season on the opposite flank, Mike Brown holds off the challenge of Ben Foden at full back.

In the back row Chris Robshaw leads the side from openside, with Tom Wood partnering him at six as expected. Billy Vunipola starts at number eight ahead of Ben Morgan, meaning that he plays an international with his brother Mako for the first time.

Australia have stripped James Horwill of the captaincy, giving it to number eight Ben Mowen instead. Horwill does retain his starting spot in the second row though, where he partners Sitaleki Timani.

Quade Cooper has surprisingly been handed the vice captaincy. He starts at fly half with fellow Queensland Red, and former vice captain, Will Genia inside him at scrum half.

Captain Mowen is joined in the back row by Michael Hooper at openside and Scott Fardy on the blindside. James Slipper and Ben Alexander face the challenge of shoring up the Wallaby scrum from prop while the experienced Stephen Moore sits between them at prop.

In the centres the is no space for Christian Leali’ifano, his clubmates Matt Toomua and Tevita Kuridrani start though.

The eternally hilarious Nick Cummins returns to the wing after injury with Adam Ashley Cooper taking the opposite berth. Israel Folau rounds off the teamsheet at full back.

Kick off 14.30

England XV:

15. Mike Brown (Harlequins) 14. Chris Ashton (Saracens) 13. Joel Tomkins (Saracens) 12. Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester) 11. Marland Yarde (London Irish) 10. Owen Farrell (Saracens) 9. Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints); 1. Mako Vunipola (Saracens) 2. Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 3. Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers) 4. Joe Launchbury (London Wasps) 5. Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints) 6. Tom Wood (Northampton Saints) 7. Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, captain), 8. Billy Vunipola (Saracens).

Replacements: 16. Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) 17. Joe Marler (Harlequins) 18. David Wilson (Bath) 19. Dave Attwood (Bath) 20. Ben Morgan (Gloucester) 21. Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers) 22. Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers) 23. Ben Foden (Northampton Saints).


15. Israel Folau (NSW Waratahs) 14. Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs) 13. Tevita Kuridrani (ACT Brumbies) 12. Matt Toomua (ACT Brumbies) 11. Nick Cummins (Western Force) 10. Quade Cooper (Queensland Reds) 9. Will Genia (Queensland Reds); 1. James Slipper (Queensland Reds) 2. Stephen Moore (ACT Brumbies) 3. Ben Alexander (ACT Brumbies) 4. Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs) 5. James Horwill (Queensland Reds) 6. Scott Fardy (ACT Brumbies) 7. Michael Hooper (NSW Waratahs) 8. Ben Mowen (ACT Brumbies, captain).

Replacements: 16. Saia Fainga’a (Queensland Reds) 17. Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs) 18. Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs) 19. Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs) 20. Ben McCalman (Western Force) 21. Nic White (ACT Brumbies) 22. Christian Leali’ifano (ACT Brumbies) 23. Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top