Lambs name Southern XV for final selection battle


The Independent School Lambs have named their Southern XV to play the Northern XV on Sunday.

The game acts as the final trial for selection to the 28 man National Squad who will play a series of matches over the rest of the school term before touring Zimbabwe over Easter.

The selection of the Southern XV follows the trial game between the South West XV and South East XV at Esher RFC on Sunday, and will be followed swiftly by the announcement of the Northern XV, whose squad is selected from the North XV v Midlands XV fixture that took place at Mount St Mary’s on the same day.

The Southern XV sees a good mix of schools in the starting XV with only Cheltenham College and Felsted having more than one starter in the squad, a reflection of their promising seasons.

Felsted also have a man on the reserve list, making them the most represented school in the squad. Others that have more than one player representing them are Kings College Taunton, who were represented so well last year by Mike Peek, Pangbourne College, Portsmouth Grammar School, Blundell’s, and Trinity.

Players are selected to the Lambs squad based on not just ability but on their ability to play to the ‘fast and free’ style that the Lambs aim to achieve, thus the Southern XV v Northern XV fixture should be a delight for the spectators, particularly given that it will be played on the artificial surface at Braywick Park.

The game will take play on Sunday 12th January at Maidenhead RFC, with a midday kick off.

Lambs Southern XV:

15. Paddy Tarleton – Cheltenham College

14. Will Bailey – Clayesmore

13. Miles Moorhouse – Clifton College

12. Harry Kean – Felsted

11. Will Potter – King’s College, Taunton

10. Ed Blackburn – Cheltenham College

9. Sam Rossiter – Pangbourne College

1. Ben Christie – Bristol Grammar School

2. Alex Post – Harrow

3. Eliott Roofe – Colfe’s

4. Hugo Macpherson – Eton College

5. Jack Williams – Kelly College

6. Fabian Lumsden – Epsom College

7. James Halfhide – Felsted

8. Rory Carter – Caterham

Reserves: 16. Harry Brooker – Felsted,  17. Guy Snowball – Portsmouth Grammar School,  18. Alex Dunham – King’s College, Taunton,  19. Andy Hamilton – Blundell’s,  20. Dominic Augustus – Trinity,  21. William Foster – Eltham College,  22. Alec Walker – Portsmouth Grammar School,   23. Hugo Harvey – Pangbourne College,  24. Harry Hitchcock – The Perse,  25. Alistair Connor – Trinity,  26. Paddy Canterbury – Blundell’s,  27. Okedemi Chukwu – Haileybury College.

*The Northern XV has now been announced and can be seen here: Northern XV

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top