English schools well represented in Irish Clubs U18s squad

Ireland have named their U18 Clubs squad for the Three Nations tournament with England U18 Clubs & Schools and France U18 A at the French national Rugby Centre, Marcoussis, Paris, in just over a week.

Ireland play France U18 A on Saturday the 12th April before facing England U18 Clubs and Schools on Wednesday the 16th, with the English side playing France U18 A between the two Irish fixtures.

There is plenty of interest in the Irish squad from an English schools perspective, with five of the Irish squad currently plying their trade at English schools, Bristol’s Josh Daly, Austin Friars fly half Brett Connon, KES Bath’s Hugh Sloan, Solihull outside half Kieran Joyce, and Warwick School’s U18 NatWest Schools Cup finalist, prop Jake Byrne.

Connon has been one of the stars for this Irish side, he kicked eleven points in their final warm up game, a 26-9 victory over Italy in Colorno.

The squad is lead by Head Coach Wayne Mitchell, while Ardee RFC and Leinster number 8, Neil Reilly, will captain the 24-strong squad.

Ireland Clubs U18s Fixtures (all times UK time):

v France U18 A, Saturday, April 12th Marcoussis, Kick Off 14.00

v England U18 Clubs & Schools, Wednesday, April 16th, Marcoussis, Kick Off 14.00

Ireland U18 Clubs Squad:

Vakhtang Abdaladze (Coolmine RFC/Leinster)

Josh Barnes (Tralee RFC/Munster)

Bens Betts (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

Jake Byrne (Northampton Saints/Exile)

Brett Connon (Newcastle Falcons/Exiles)

Matthew Cosgrove (Sligo RFC/Connacht)

Josh Daly (Bristol RFC/Exile)

Brian Fanning (Bruff RFC/Munster)

Conor Farrell (Navan RFC/Leinster)

Andrew Feeney (Suttonians RFC/Leinster)

Ciaran Frawley (Skerries RFC/Leinster)

Cameron Fulton (Coleraine RFC/Ulster)

Conor Hand (Navan RFC/Leinster)

Peter Howard (Cill Dara RFC/Leinster)

Kieran Joyce (Silhillians RFC/Exile)

Adam McBurney (Randalstown RFC/Ulster)

Tadgh McElroy (Dundalk RFC/Leinster)

Conor O’Brien (Mullingar RFC/Leinster)

Sean O’Leary (Midleton RFC/Munster)

Phillip Poillot (Clonakilty RFC/Munster)

Neil Reilly (Ardee RFC/Leinster, captain)

Hugh Sloan (Bath RFC/Exile)

Ronan Wallace (Mullingar RFC/Leinster)

Joe White (Clonakilty RFC/Munster)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top