BMW Wellington International U16 Festival begins with a bang


The BMW Wellington International U16 Festival began yesterday, with England’s four U16 divisions returning a mixed bag of results.

The North U16s put on an excellent display to beat France West U16s 15-0, a scoreline that should arguably have been higher. However for the France’s other side, France East U16, the story was rather different. They edged out the Midlands U16s 14-12 to leave the day finished at England 1, France 1.

On Wednesday the Festival begins its second day, and France East U16s will once again face English opposition, this time in the form of the South West U16s. The South West will be hoping to improve on their performance yesterday though, they were given a heavy beating by Wales Celts, who won 43-12.

It was better news for the London & South East U16s though; they beat Italy U17s 38-5 to record the highest winning margin of the day, a thoroughly impressive result.

The award for the most thrilling game of the day though must go to Scotland U16s v Wales Druids. They played out an absolute thriller to leave the final score as a 29-29 draw, reflecting just how closely matched the sides were.

BMW Wellington International Fesitval Results – Day One:

North U16 15-0 France West

Midlands U16 12-14 France East

London & South East U16 38-5 Italy

South West U16 12-43 Wales Celts

Scotland U16 29-29 Wales Druids



11.00 South West U16 v France East

11.00 North U16 v Scotland U16

14.00 Midlands U16 v Wales Druids

16.00 London & South East U16 v Wales Celts

16.00 Italy U17 v France West


10.00 England Roses U16 v England Lions U16

12.00 England Saxons U16 v Scotland U16

12.00 Wales Druids v France U16

14.30 Wale Celts v France A

14.30 England U16 v Italy U17

England U16 Teams:


1. George Williams (Fallilbroome)  2. Jamie Blairmire (Stainburn)  3. Will Dennis (Selby High)  4. Elliot Ward (QEGS Wakefield)  5. Max Davies (Sedbergh)  6. Ben Curry (Bishop Heber)  7. Tom Curry (Bishop Heber)  8. Matt Peakman (King’s Macclesfield);  9. Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh)  10. Alistair Crossdale (Altrincham GS)  11. Rory Brand (Standish High)  12. Harry Dunne (Crossley Heath)  13. Armani Roberts (Bishop Heber, wearing 23)  14. Jordon Olowefela (Lincoln Minster)  15. Ben Stevenson (Yarm).

Replacements: 16. Ben Gregory (Deanery High)  17. George Armstrong (Woodhouse Grove)  18. Adam Mohammed (Gosforth)  19. Will Bowi (Guiseley)  20. Will Hodgson (King’s Macclesfield)  21.  James Grayson (Northampton School For Boys).


1. George Cave (Bedford School)  2. Henry Walker (Bromsgrove School)  3. Joseph Morris (King Edward VI Aston)  4. James Newman (King’s Grantham)  5. Kalius Hutchinson (Coundon)  6. Zac Xiourouppa (Ellesmere)  7. Jake Carter (Bedford)  8. Ben Fowles (Solihull School);  9. Josh Nott (RGS Worcester)  10. Jacob Umaga (Kenilworth School)  11.Harry Robinson (The Chase)  12. Suva Ma’asi (Wootton School)  13. Matt Riddington (Oakham)  14. Adam Shaw (Princethorpe)  15. William Butler (Hereford Cathedral).

Replacements: 16. Seb Deans-Smith (Charlton School)  17. David Hickey (Bedford School)  18. Jake Charters (Oakham)  19. Toby Hutchinson (Longfield Academy)  20. Charlie Morgan (Solihull)  21. Ben White (Denstone College)  22. Charlton Kerr (Stowe School)  23. Tosin Segun (Stowe)  24. Blake Edwards (Bromsgrove).

London & South East:

1. Dan Wheatley (Steyning Grammar)  2. Matt Kouris (Wavell School)  3. Ehren Painter (Felsted)  4. Nick Isiekwe (Nicholas Breakspear)  5. Ben Kelland (Royal Hospital)  6. Jack Nay (Hayesbrook School)  7. Isaac Curtis-Harris (Fort Hill)  8. Ben Earl (Tonbridge);  9. Zack Santos (Hampton)  10. Sam Morley (Whitgift)  11. Gabriel Ibitoye (Trinity)  12. Roman Malin Hiscock (Hampton)  13. Jack Longhurst (Fitzwimarc)  14. Callum Sirker (Harrow)  15. Will Kaye (Hautlieu).

Replacements: 16. Harrison King (Fitzwimarc)  17. Seb Brownhill (Richard Hale) 18. Scott Griffin (RGS Colchester) 19. Will Glover (Harrow) 20. Freddie Hatton (Rodding Valley HS)  21. Toni Kuku (Stowe)  22. Jake Duffield (Langley)  23. Tom Simmons (Chislehurst & Sidcup GS).

South West:

1. Liam Hilliar (Exmouth Community College)  2. Gabriel Oghre  (Beechen Cliff)  3. Marcus Street (Queen Elizabeth’s CC)  4. Ross Barnes (Pittville)  5. Josh Bayliss (Millfield)  6.Matt Solway (St.Gregory’s Bath)  7. Charlie Fethney (Devenport High)  8. Declan Matthews (Penair);  9. Jack West (King’s College Taunton)  10 . George Clair (St.Peter’s Gloucester)  11. Aaron Chapman (King’s College Taunton)  12. Mason Tonks (Dene Magna)  13. Matt Williams (Wellington College)  14. Dan Beachus (Cheltenham College)  15. Oliver Graham (Castle School Taunton).

Replacements: 16. Sam Miller (Wallingford)  17. Jake Anderson (St.Edward’s Oxford)  18. Will Vaughn (Heathfield Community College)  19. Jack Holford (Abingdon)  20. Lars Heidrich (St.Paul’s)  21. Jack Ingall (Wellington College)  22. Zak Smith (Prior Park)  23. Matt Marsh (Stowe)  24. Jacob Atkins (Forest)  25. Michael Marsden (John Hampden)  26. Reuben Bird-Tulloch (Eltham College).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top