Newcastle, Leicester, London Welsh, and Sale continue youthful Premiership 7s theme

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The youthful Premiership 7s lineups continue with the announcement of the squads for Group D of the competition, which has so far been packed full of academy talent.

Newcastle host the final leg of the group stages at Darlington’s Northern Echo Arena (Kingston Park’s surface is still being relaid) and have a squad that is full of academy players.

The man that will perhaps grab the most headlines is that of Brian Tuilagi, nephew of England and Leciester Tigers’ Manu. Given that Leicester are also in Group D, that Newcaslte v Leicester clash will take on a whole new level of extra competitiveness given the Tuilagi family bond with Leicester.

The former Durham School flyer Craig Willis is also included. Willis was a real headline grabber for both his school and the Falcons U18s a couple of years ago and will be eager to make a similar impression on Saturday evening.

The squad is one of the most youthful in the competition though, demonstrated by the fact that it is an academy man, Tom Catterick, who leads the side. Academy talent continues with the likes of Sean Brown, Andy Davies, Chris Harris, Ben Morris, and the former Hymers College man Simon Hammersley.

Leicester Tigers, who finished as runner-up in last year’s edition, have also opted for a youthful approach, which includes the England U20s JWC winning winger, George Catchpole and his fellow England U20 international, Will Owen.

Catchpole leads the Academy based squad, which also includes Andy Bulumakau, who is on trial with the club, and also includes the likes of Jake Farnworth, George Tresidder, and David Williams, who all took part in the squad that reached last year’s final.

London Welsh return to the Premiership 7s following their promotion from the Championship and have named a very interesting squad. Included in their number is Sam Egerton, of Oxford University Varsity match fame, or perhaps notoriety. Certainly Egerton is an exciting player though and will be one that many will keep an eye on during the course of Saturday night.

Also included is the St Joseph’s College school leaver, Austin Beckett. Beckett had been at Northampton Saints but is now trying to make his mark with the Exiles. He is the third product of the Ipswich based school to feature in this year’s 7s, with George Wacokecoke playing for Bath last night, and Lewis Ludlum featuring for Northampton Saints tonight. Beckett’s pace will certainly put the frighteners on a few defenders on Saturday.

Terry Sands, a man well known in schoolboy rugby and in the wider rugby circle for his Samurai 7s teams at various levels, will manage the Exiles side.

Sale Sharks complete Group D and like the others in the group, they have gone for a youthful approach. Former Lymm High School and England U18 scrum half James Mitchell is one of the most exciting youngsters in the squad.

George Nott is another exciting youngster in the group, he will tour South Africa with the England U18s later this month. His England U18 colleague, St Ambrose College’s Ciaran Parker, is also in the squad and will be proving just how well rounded modern day props have to be as he makes the step into the big time in the shortened format of the game.

With plenty of other youngsters in the squad including the likes of the tremendously exciting Nathan Fowles, this should be a very exciting Sale squad and a real glimpse into their future.

Which youngsters are you most excited to see in action during the Premiership 7s? Let us know via the comment box below or via @FifteenRugbyXV

Premiership 7s Group D – Saturday 2nd August, Darlington Northern Echo Arena:


19.15 Newcastle Falcons v Leicester Tigers

19.40 London Welsh v Sale Sharks

20.10 London Welsh v Leicester Tigers

20.35 Newcastle Falcons v Sale Sharks

21.05 Leicester Tigers v Sale Sharks

21.30 Newcastle Falcons v London Welsh


Newcastle Falcons:

Sean Brown ,  Tom Catterick (c),  Andy Davies,  Chris Harris,  Simon Hammersley,  Ben Morris,  Sean Robinson,  Lee Smith,  Dan Temm,  Brian Tuilagi,  Craig Willis.

Leicester Tigers:

Will Owen,  Jake Farnworth,  Tomi Jones,  George Catchpole,  Rhys Williams,  George Tresidder,  Josh Fowles,  Andy Bulumakau,  Phil Woodhead,  David Williams,  Oli Bryant,  Dan Rundle.

London Welsh:

Aaron Myers (c),  Gerhard Wessels,  Ben Frankland,  Sam Egerton,  Chris Levesley,  Jono Woodward,  Watisoni Vakalutulaki,  Jamel Chisholm,  Austin Beckett,  Johnny Wehbe,  Hamish Smales,  Jamie Davies.

Sale Sharks:

Liam Parfitt,  Tahir El Mahdi,  John O’Donnell,  James Mitchell,  Tim Jeffers,  Ciaran Parker,  George Nott,  Tom Bell,  Nathan Fowles,  Sam Bedlow,  Mark Lawrence,  George Beal.

Group A Qualifiers – Cardiff Blues & Newport Gwent Dragons.

Group B Qualifiers – Gloucester & London Irish

Premiership 7s Finals – Saturday 9th August, Twickenham Stoop.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles




Back to top