U18 Premiership Returns – Fixtures, Previews, & Team News

The Aviva U18 Academy Premiership restarts again this this evening, the first of four rounds in the next five weekends.

The action all begins this evening with London Irish v Wasps, while Saracens and Northampton Saints meet in a friendly at Allianz Park.

It is the first round in the U18 league since October, when Saracens, London Irish, Bath, Leicester Tigers, and Worcester Warriors all picked up wins. The big winners though were Northampton Saints, who beat Yorkshire Carnegie 45-5.

This weekend marks the first fixture of the campaign for Bristol and Newcastle Falcons.

Bristol host Exeter Chiefs, who lost 24-17 to London Irish last time out, on Saturday, while Newcastle Falcons travel to Carrington on Sunday to meet Sale Sharks, who were beaten 24-12 by Worcester Warriors in their opening game.

Seven of the teams have named line ups so far, with both London Irish and Wasps releasing their teams for this evening. That sets up one particularly intriguing clash at outside centre where Wellington College and England U18 colleagues Matt Williams and Conor Dolan will line up opposite each other for London Irish and Wasps respectively.

With Irish have won their opener and Wasps losing theirs, this will be an intriguing clash. As will Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers on Saturday morning, both won their opening games and will be keen to crack on and make another winning statement.

Yorkshire Carnegie will be hoping to get back to winning ways following that heavy opening round defeat, they host Gloucester, who only missed out on an away win at Leicester Tigers by two points.

Harlequins and Bath, two sides without an AASE programme, meet on Saturday afternoon at Surrey Sports Park. Quins lost their opener to Saracens, while Bath had a magnificent away win against Wasps.

Which U18 players will you be looking out for in the Academy League programme? Let us know via @FifteenRugbyXV or via the comment box below.

U18 League Fixtures:


London Irish v Wasps – 19.30, Hazelwood

Saracens v Northampton Saints – Allianz Park (Friendly)


Worcester Warriors v Leicester Tigers – 11.00, Sixways

Yorkshire Carnegie v Gloucester – 13.00, Sandhill Lane

Bristol v Exeter Chiefs – 14.00, Cribbs Causeway

Harlequins v Bath – 14.00, Surrey Sports Park


Sale Sharks v Newcastle Falcons – 14.00, Carrington


London Irish

15. Ollie Turner;  14. Lewis Sampson;  13. Matt Williams;  12. Cameron Smith;  11. Joe Cokanasiga;  10. Theo Brophy-Clews (c);  9. Ben Holt;  1. Freddie Boyce;  2. Curtis Langdon;  3. Tyler White;  4. Hugo McPherson;  5.  Patrick McPherson;  6. Charlie Stonehill;  7. Jack Ingle;  8. Luke Frost.

Replacements: 16. Toby Hill;  17. Matt Kouris;  18. Johnson Chandigere;  19. Angus Southon;  20. Issac Curtis-Harris;  21. Callum Watson;  22. Eddie Lewis;  23. Sam Evans.


15. Josh Amadi,  14. Mike Marsden,  13. Conor Dolan,  12 Connor Eastgate,  11 Caleb Shepherd,  10 Owain James,  9 James Small-Edwards,  1 Charlie Perkins ,  2 Rauf Birler,  3 Cecil McCarthy,  4 Jacob Turner,  5 Jake O’Leary,  6 Seun Coker,  7 Mike Dewer,  8 Will Wilson.

Replacements: 16 Max Chandler,  17 Karl Garside,  18 Curtis Reynolds,  19 Will Glover,  20 Scott White,  21 Alex Crocker,  22 Al Gliksten,  23 Josh Amadi.

Worcester Warriors

15 Alex Nisbett (Bromsgrove School)  14 Harry Robinson (Hartpury College)  13 Will Hollis (King’s Worcester)  12 Jacob Helme (Hereford Cathedral School)  11 Baron Abraham (Worcester Sixth Form College)  10 Luke White (Bromsgrove School)  9 Josh Nott (Hartpury College)  1 Joe White (Worcester Sixth Form College)  2 Jack Singleton (Warriors Academy)  3 Joe Morris (King Edwards School Aston)  4 Andrew Kitchener (Warriors Academy)  5 Justin Clegg (Bromsgrove School)  6 Sam Smith (Warriors Academy)  7 Zac Xiourouppa (Hartpury College)  8 Max Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College).

Replacements:  16 James Page (Malvern College)  17 Seb Dean-Smith (Worcester Sixth Form College)  18 Callum Jacobs (King’s Worcester)  19 Ben Davies-Moore (Worcester Sixth Form College)  20 Myles Edwards (Worcester Sixth Form College)  21 Max Himbury (Worcester Sixth Form College)  22 George Trimmer (Old Swinford Hospital School)  23 Jamie Shilcock (Warwick School).

Leicester Tigers – TBA

Yorkshire Carnegie:

15 Sam Allan (c) 14 Ben Winterburn 13 Tom Bullough 12 Max Green 11 Dan Tai 10 Ben Smith 9 Jimmy McDaniel 1 Charlie Capps 2 Jordon Poole 3 Will Dennis 4 Raffen Cherrington 5 Elliot Ward 6 Harry Newborn 7 Lewis Wilson 8 James Sanderson.

Replacements: 16 Luke Chadwick 17 Joe Raddings 18 Todd Johnson 19 Joe Bedford-Stockwell 20 Joe Sanderson 21 Nathan Barke.

Gloucester – TBA



Harvey, Watson, Appleton, Jacobs, Gompels, Mustoe, Cooksey, Ball, Callaghan, Ryan, Gannaway, Capon, Beck (c).


Fournier, Boyland, Hydleman, Hayward, Newey, Daly, Mayes, Caven, Owsley, Clements.

Exeter Chiefs:

1 Ollie Dawe 2 Aiden Taylor 3 Jack Stanley 4 Kieran Westlake 5 Josh Caulfield 6 Nat Bayet 7 Toby Papp 8 Declan Mathews 9 Jack Maunder 10 James McFalrlane 11 Jack Zilch 12 Harry Strong 13 Harrison Cully 14 Ethan Tyler 15 Tom Putt.

Replacements: 16 Charlie Gibbings 17 Liam Hilliar 18 Billy Keast 19 Connor O`Shaunessy 20 Angus Brown 21 Matt Butler 22 Ollie Avery-Wright 23 Noah Sixton.

Harlequins :


Ben Gasson, Bradley Ugodulunwa, Suvwe Obano, Jamie Ure, Archie White, Sean Richardson, Victor Keunen, Dino Lamb-Cona, George Head, James Hadfield, Sam Gratton, James Hunt, Nathan Thomas.


Niall Saunders, Sam Morley, Loewy Simmons, Ben Sackey, Brandon Bellamin, Ollie Kitto, Sam Aspland-Robinson, Tom Nicole, Will Brinkley, Finn Lewthwaite.

Bath – TBA

Sale Sharks:

Alex Mitchell,  Ali Crossdale,  Frazer Summers,  Connor Wilkinson,  Charlie Venables,  Mark Dixon,  Connor Dever,  Jordan Grass,  Lewis Bradley,  Jake Pope,  Matt Postlethwaite,  Max Davies,  Sam Haley,  Tom Curry,  Joe McGrail.

Replacements: Christian Taylor,  George Williams,  Josh Crawford,  Druw Fray,  Ben Curry,  Rory Brand,  Callum Emery,  Harry Blackwell.

Newcastle Falcons:

1 Angus Fulton (Gosforth Academy, Carlisle RFC, Cumbria)  2 Jack Beckwith (Barnard Castle School, Consett RFC, Durham)  3 Elliot Beattie (Gateshead College, Blaydon RFC, Durham)  4 Aidan Coulthard (West Lakes College, Egremont RFC, Cumbria)  5 Harry Borthwick (Berwick RFC, Borders)  6 Joe Craggs (Gosforth Academy, Darlington Mowden Park RFC, Durham)  7 Jonny Teague (Yarm School, Darlington Mowden Park RFC, Durham)  8 Callum Chick (Gosforth Academy, Ponteland RFC, Northumberland)  9 Ruaridh Dawson (Newcastle School for Boys, Blaydon RFC, Northumberland)  10 Sam Leeming (Barnard Castle School, Durham)  11 Ben Stevenson (Yarm School, Middlesbrough RFC, Durham)  12 Lloyd Purser (Durham School, Durham City RFC, Durham)  13 Callum Burn (c) (Kirkley Hall College, Alnwick RFC, Northumberland)  14 Dan Marshall (Gosforth Academy, Ponteland RFC, Northumberland)  15 Johnny McPhillips (Sedbergh School, Cumbria).

Replacements: 16 Jamie Blamire (Gosforth Academy, Workington Zebras RFC, Cumbria)  17 Christian White (Austin Friars School, Dumfries RFC, Cumbria)  18 Adam Mohammed Gosforth Academy, Northern RFC, Northumberland)  19 James Jennings (Barnard Castle School, Durham)  20 Ged Key (Penrith RFC, Cumbria)  21 Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh School, Cumbria)  22 Garry Izomor (Durham School, Durham City RFC, Durham)  23 Yousef Sahib (Carlisle College, Carlisle RFC, Cumbria).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top