U18 Premiership returns with a bang – Results & Teams

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The second round of the Aviva U18 Academy League took place this weekend, meaning that each team has now played at least one match in the competition so far this season.

On Friday Wasps beat London Irish away at London Irish’s Hazlewood training complex, a brilliant turnaround after losing to Bath by a similar scoreline last time out.

Bath could not secure a second victory though, an exciting side fell to Harlequins on Saturday in an exciting and high scoring game, 40-32, giving Harlequins a first win after their defeat to Saracens back in October.

Bristol v Exeter Chiefs was another high scoring and exciting game, the Chiefs secured the victory, their first after defeat to London Irish last time out, but Bristol secured a losing bonus point, with scores finishing at 34-28.

Gloucester showed their form in the first round as they cam within two points of beating Leicester Tigers, and showed it again on Saturday as they overcame the long trip to Yorkshire to beat Yorkshire Carnegie 18-10, while Leicester grabbed their second victory of the competition, beating Worcester Warriors 8-0.

With another round of games to be played this weekend coming, and plenty of players also involved in the A league this evening, it is an exciting time to be an academy youngster.

U18 League Results:


London Irish 21-29 Wasps

Saracens 35-10 Northampton Saints (friendly)


Worcester Warriors 0-8 Leicester Tigers

Yorkshire Carnegie 10-18 Gloucester

Bristol 28-34 Exeter Chiefs

Harlequins 40-32 Bath


Sale Sharks 29-17 Newcastle Falcons


London Irish

15. Ollie Turner;  14. Lewis Sampson;  13. Matt Williams;  12. Cameron Smith;  11. Joe Cokanasiga;  10. Theo Brophy-Clews (c);  9. Ben Holt;  1. Freddie Boyce;  2. Curtis Langdon;  3. Tyler White;  4. Hugo McPherson;  5.  Patrick McPherson;  6. Charlie Stonehill;  7. Jack Ingle;  8. Luke Frost.

Replacements: 16. Toby Hill;  17. Matt Kouris;  18. Johnson Chandigere;  19. Angus Southon;  20. Issac Curtis-Harris;  21. Callum Watson;  22. Eddie Lewis;  23. Sam Evans.


15. Josh Amadi,  14. Mike Marsden,  13. Conor Dolan,  12 Connor Eastgate,  11 Caleb Shepherd,  10 Owain James,  9 James Small-Edwards,  1 Charlie Perkins ,  2 Rauf Birler,  3 Cecil McCarthy,  4 Jacob Turner,  5 Jake O’Leary,  6 Seun Coker,  7 Mike Dewer,  8 Will Wilson.

Replacements: 16 Max Chandler,  17 Karl Garside,  18 Curtis Reynolds,  19 Will Glover,  20 Scott White,  21 Alex Crocker,  22 Al Gliksten,  23 Josh Amadi.

Worcester Warriors

15 Alex Nisbett (Bromsgrove School)  14 Harry Robinson (Hartpury College)  13 Will Hollis (King’s Worcester)  12 Jacob Helme (Hereford Cathedral School)  11 Baron Abraham (Worcester Sixth Form College)  10 Luke White (Bromsgrove School)  9 Josh Nott (Hartpury College)  1 Joe White (Worcester Sixth Form College)  2 Jack Singleton (Warriors Academy)  3 Joe Morris (King Edwards School Aston)  4 Andrew Kitchener (Warriors Academy)  5 Justin Clegg (Bromsgrove School)  6 Sam Smith (Warriors Academy)  7 Zac Xiourouppa (Hartpury College)  8 Max Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College).

Replacements:  16 James Page (Malvern College)  17 Seb Dean-Smith (Worcester Sixth Form College)  18 Callum Jacobs (King’s Worcester)  19 Ben Davies-Moore (Worcester Sixth Form College)  20 Myles Edwards (Worcester Sixth Form College)  21 Max Himbury (Worcester Sixth Form College)  22 George Trimmer (Old Swinford Hospital School)  23 Jamie Shilcock (Warwick School).

Leicester Tigers – N/A

Yorkshire Carnegie:

15 Sam Allan (c) 14 Ben Winterburn 13 Tom Bullough 12 Max Green 11 Dan Tai 10 Ben Smith 9 Jimmy McDaniel 1 Charlie Capps 2 Jordon Poole 3 Will Dennis 4 Raffen Cherrington 5 Elliot Ward 6 Harry Newborn 7 Lewis Wilson 8 James Sanderson.

Replacements: 16 Luke Chadwick 17 Joe Raddings 18 Todd Johnson 19 Joe Bedford-Stockwell 20 Joe Sanderson 21 Nathan Barke.

Gloucester – N/A



Harvey, Watson, Appleton, Jacobs, Gompels, Mustoe, Cooksey, Ball, Callaghan, Ryan, Gannaway, Capon, Beck (c).


Fournier, Boyland, Hydleman, Hayward, Newey, Daly, Mayes, Caven, Owsley, Clements.

Exeter Chiefs:

1 Ollie Dawe 2 Aiden Taylor 3 Jack Stanley 4 Kieran Westlake 5 Josh Caulfield 6 Nat Bayet 7 Toby Papp 8 Declan Mathews 9 Jack Maunder 10 James McFalrlane 11 Jack Zilch 12 Harry Strong 13 Harrison Cully 14 Ethan Tyler 15 Tom Putt.

Replacements: 16 Charlie Gibbings 17 Liam Hilliar 18 Billy Keast 19 Connor O`Shaunessy 20 Angus Brown 21 Matt Butler 22 Ollie Avery-Wright 23 Noah Sixton.



Ben Gasson, Bradley Ugodulunwa, Suvwe Obano, Jamie Ure, Archie White, Sean Richardson, Victor Keunen, Dino Lamb-Cona, George Head, James Hadfield, Sam Gratton, James Hunt, Nathan Thomas.


Niall Saunders, Sam Morley, Loewy Simmons, Ben Sackey, Brandon Bellamin, Ollie Kitto, Sam Aspland-Robinson, Tom Nicole, Will Brinkley, Finn Lewthwaite.



Vaughan, Frost, Edmundson, Carter, Outlaw, Oghre, Rice, Britton, Harris, Bayliss, Blackmore, Morris-Mean, Denness, Harris.


Bailey, Shrestha, Waters, Hastings, Rees, Solway, Kelly (c), Mackenzie, Graham, Atkins, Lewis, Wright.

Sale Sharks:

Alex Mitchell,  Ali Crossdale,  Frazer Summers,  Connor Wilkinson,  Charlie Venables,  Mark Dixon,  Connor Dever,  Jordan Grass,  Lewis Bradley,  Jake Pope,  Matt Postlethwaite,  Max Davies,  Sam Haley,  Tom Curry,  Joe McGrail.

Replacements: Christian Taylor,  George Williams,  Josh Crawford,  Druw Fray,  Ben Curry,  Rory Brand,  Callum Emery,  Harry Blackwell.

Newcastle Falcons:

1 Angus Fulton (Gosforth Academy, Carlisle RFC, Cumbria)  2 Jack Beckwith (Barnard Castle School, Consett RFC, Durham)  3 Elliot Beattie (Gateshead College, Blaydon RFC, Durham)  4 Aidan Coulthard (West Lakes College, Egremont RFC, Cumbria)  5 Harry Borthwick (Berwick RFC, Borders)  6 Joe Craggs (Gosforth Academy, Darlington Mowden Park RFC, Durham)  7 Jonny Teague (Yarm School, Darlington Mowden Park RFC, Durham)  8 Callum Chick (Gosforth Academy, Ponteland RFC, Northumberland)  9 Ruaridh Dawson (Newcastle School for Boys, Blaydon RFC, Northumberland)  10 Sam Leeming (Barnard Castle School, Durham)  11 Ben Stevenson (Yarm School, Middlesbrough RFC, Durham)  12 Lloyd Purser (Durham School, Durham City RFC, Durham)  13 Callum Burn (c) (Kirkley Hall College, Alnwick RFC, Northumberland)  14 Dan Marshall (Gosforth Academy, Ponteland RFC, Northumberland)  15 Johnny McPhillips (Sedbergh School, Cumbria).

Replacements: 16 Jamie Blamire (Gosforth Academy, Workington Zebras RFC, Cumbria)  17 Christian White (Austin Friars School, Dumfries RFC, Cumbria)  18 Adam Mohammed Gosforth Academy, Northern RFC, Northumberland)  19 James Jennings (Barnard Castle School, Durham)  20 Ged Key (Penrith RFC, Cumbria)  21 Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh School, Cumbria)  22 Garry Izomor (Durham School, Durham City RFC, Durham)  23 Yousef Sahib (Carlisle College, Carlisle RFC, Cumbria).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top