Exciting weekend in the U18 Premiership as Exeter defeat Saracens & Saints go top


A defeat for Saracens at Exeter Chiefs saw their grip on the Southern Conference in the U18 Academy Premiership loosened.

Saracens are now just two points clear of Exeter following Saturday’s 12-8 defeat, but are guaranteed to finish in the top two, even if they lose in their final game in a fortnight. Exeter are the only other side who can claim top spot in the South but a bonus point win for London Irish or Bath and a defeat for Exeter would see them drop out of the top two altogether.

London Irish put themselves in that position with an outstanding 51-13 victory over bottom of the table Bristol on Saturday, while Bath had a rest week.

Wasps have played their final game of the regular campaign before finals day, and they signed off on a real high scoring five tries, with two each for the Harrow pair of Owain James and Callum Sirker, in their 29-0 victory over struggling Harlequins.

In the Northern Conference Northampton Saints, the reigning U18 Premiership champions, moved to the top of the table with a 22-14 win at Sale Sharks, taking advantage of Gloucester having a rest week.

Leicester Tigers secured their first bonus point of the campaign with a 41-5 victory over Yorkshire Carnegie, who will finish bottom of the table. It was a crucial bonus point as it leaves Leicester with a very slim chance of being able to top the table, though it would require an extraordinary try count swing. However they are just a point behind second placed Gloucester and will definitely be targeting that.

Yorkshire Carnegie’s fate at the foot of the table was sealed as second bottom Newcastle Falcons secured an excellent 18-13 victory against Worcester Warriors, who were playing their final game of the campaign, making fourth place a realistic target for the Falcons.

The final round of the U18 Premiership takes place on the weekend of the 7th February, and with plenty yet to be decided, it ought to be an exciting weekend of rugby.

U18 Academy Premiership Results:

Wasps 29-0 Harlequins

Exeter 12-8 Saracens

Leicester Tigers 41-5 Yorkshire Carnegie

London Irish 51-13 Bristol

Newcastle Falcons 18-13 Worcester Warriors

Sale Sharks 14-22 Northampton Saints



15. Owain James (Harrow)  14. Callum Sirker (Harrow)  13. Conor Dolan (Wellington College)  12. Conor Eastgate (The Henley College)  11. Caleb Shepherd (The Henley College)  10. Harry Sheppard (Wasps Academy)  9. James Small-Edwards (St Paul’s)  1. Tom West (Wasps Academy)  2. Jamie Cox (Abingdon)  3. Will Stuart (Wasps Academy)  4. Jacob Turner (The Henley College)  5. Ehize Ehizode (St Benedict’s)  6. Jack Willis (The Henley College)  7. Seun Coker (Stowe)  8. Will Wilson (Wellington College).

Replacements: 16. Jamie Spanswick (St Benedict’s)  17. Curtis Reynolds (Oaklands College)  18. Cecil McCarthy (The Henley College)  19. Seb Cecil (Stowe)  20. Mike Dewar (Abingdon)  21. Al Gliksten (Harrow)  22. Tim Bitrim (Oaklands College) 23. Connor McClean (St George’s).

Harlequins (from):


Wilkey,  Gasson,  Ugodulunwa,  Tilleray,  Gratton,  Obano,  Okafor,  White,  Thomas,  Gulliver,  Keunen,  Richardson,  Lamb-Cona.


Saunders,  R. Morley,  Brinkley,  Harrison,  Coyle,  Hennessy,  Sackey,  Simmons,  Lewthwaite,  Aspland-Robinson.

Leicester Tigers:

15 Will Sutton  14 Sam Yawayawa  13 Wesley Douglas  12 Charlie Thacker  11 Paolo Odogwu  10 George Worth  9 Ben White  1 Owen Hills  2 Luis Evitt  3 Fred Tuilagi  4 Joe Green  5 Alex Galletly  6 Zak Poole  7 Oliver Povoas  8 Stone Priestley-Nangle.

Replacements:  16 Jamie Jack  17 Aubrey Grimes  18 Jake Charters  19 Will Evans  20 Charlie Harvey  21 Emilio Fusco  22 Jordan Olowofela  23 Lewis Winterbottom.

Yorkshire Carnegie:

1. Charlie Capps 2. Jordon Poole 3. Nathan Smith 4. Ross Kirtland 5. Elliott Ward 6. James Sanderson 7. Lewis Wilson 8. Brandon Staples 9. Max Green 10. Max Wright (c) 11. Suva Ma’asi 12. Connor Field 13. Tom Bullough 14. James Pinder 15. Will Smith.

Replacements: 16. Luke Chadwick 17. Will Dennis 18. Harry Newborn 19. Jimmy McDaniel 20. Sam Harrison.

Exeter Chiefs:

15 Tom Putt 14 Aaron Chapman 13 Harry Strong 12 Noax Sixton 11 Harrison Cully 10 James McFarlane 9 Jack Maunder 1 Oli Dawe 2 Aiden Taylor 3 Billy Keast 4 Connor O’Shaugnessy 5 Kieran Westlake 6 Josh Caulfield 7 Nat Bayett 8 Declan Matthews .

Replacements:  16 Liam Hilliar 17 Luke Trewhella 18 Alex Rodd 19 Angus Brown 20 Toby Papp 21 Matthew Butler 22 Olly Avery-Wright 23 Brad Jane.


1. Ralph Hale-Adams  2. Harrison King  3. Billy Walker  4. Hamish Hughes  5. Nick Isiekwe  6. Jacob Moody  7. Ethan Waddleton  8. Ben Earl  9. Alex Patton  10. Max Malins  11. Euan Dickson-Earle  12. Fili Savou  13. Dominic Morris  14. Alex Gilham  15. Matt Gallagher.

Replacements: 16. Aston Lester  17. Taylor Reed  18. Seb Brownhill  19. Danny Cutmore  20. Alex Everett  21. Freddie Hatton  22. Jack Longhurst  23. Tom Ffitch.

Newcastle Falcons:

1 Elliott Beattie (Gateshead College)  2 Jamie Blamire (Gosforth Academy)  3 James Orritt (Sedbergh)  4 Aidan Coulthard (West Lakes College)  5 Michael Walton (Durham)  6 Harry Borthwick (Berwick RFC)  7 Joe Craggs (Gosforth Academy)  8 Callum Chick (c) (Gosforth Academy)  9 Harry Graham (Worksop College)  10 Sam Leeming (Barnard Castle)  11 Connor Stewart (Durham)  12 Lloyd Purser (Durham)  13 Ben Stevenson (Yarm)  14 Garry Izomor (Durham)  15 Dan Marshall (Gosforth Academy).

Replacements: 16 Dan Gray (Newcastle School for Boys)  17 Jack Beckwith (Barnard Castle)  18 Adam Mohammed (Gosforth Academy)  19 Anth Davies (Newcastle School for Boys)  20 Richard Marr (Gosforth Academy)  21 Charlie Gowling (Sedbergh)  22 Jamie Preston (Barnard Castle)  23 Jack Appleton (Newcastle School for Boys).

Worcester Warriors:

15 George Trimmer (Old Swindford Hospital School)  14 Tainne Finn (Hartpury College)  13 Will Hollis (King’s Worcester)  12 Will Butler (Hereford Cathedral School)  11 Baron Abrahams (Worcester Sixth Form College)  10 Jamie Shilcock (Warwick)  9 Josh Nott (Hartpury College)  1 James Page (Malvern College)  2 Jack Singleton (Warriors Academy)  3 Joe Morris (KES Aston)  4 Andrew Kitchener (Warriors Academy)  5 Justin Clegg (Bromsgrove)  6 Myles Edwards (Worcester Sixth Form College)  7 Sam Smith (Warriors Academy)  8 Ben Fowles (Solihull) (c).

Replacements:  16 George Newman (Worcester Sixth Form College)  17 Joe White (Worcester Sixth Form College)  18 Ben Davies-Moore (Worcester Sixth Form College)  19 Max Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College)  20 Charlie Morgan (Solihull)  21 Jacob Ham (King’s Worcester)  22 Sam Hollingsworth (Worcester Sixth Form College)  23 Harry Robinson (Hartpury College).

London Irish – N/A

Bristol – N/A

Sale Sharks – N/A

Northampton Saints:

15 George Furbank  14 Tosin Segun  13 Jamel Hamilton  12 Freddie McKibbin  11 Adam Shaw  10 James Grayson  9 Rob Smith  1 Ryan Eveleigh  2 Rob Marmion   3 Luc Jeannot  4 Alex Moon  5 John Hawkins (c)  6 Tim Cardall  7 Will Allman  8 George Cox.

Replacements: 16 Alex Rayment  17 Jake Byrne  18 Ehren Painter  19 Toby Trinder  20 Jake Carter  21 Ben Richardson  22 Gregor Haldane  23 Charlton Kerr.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top