England U18 Counties Squad Selected


The England Counties U18 squad, formerly the Clubs & Schools squad, has been selected.

The squad will take park in the International Triangular Festival at Hartpury College between the 28th March and the 4th April against Ireland U18 Clubs and a France U18 XV.

The squad is made up from the divisional squad, North, Midlands, South East, and South West, who met at the Divisional Festival at Loughborough University earlier this month.

The squad includes a number of exciting young players, including the likes of Ruaridh Dawson from RGS Newcastle, Trinity’s George Jackson, Reed’s School’s Dylan Morris and Warwick’s James Shillock.

The pathway has also served as a springboard to full age-grade honours in the past, with Saracens’ Aaron Morris a particularly exciting example. Morris played for the U18 Counties side two years ago, before then being selected for the England U20s and eventually starting for them in their 2014 JWC title winning campaign, and he is selected for the U20s again for Friday’s game against Ireland.

Morris’ example shows that a good performance for the U18 Counties really could be the start of even greater things for these young players.

International Triangular Festival Fixtures:

28th March – England U18 Counties v France U18 select XV

1st April – Irish U18 Clubs v France U18 select XV

4th April – England U18 Counites v Irish U18 Clubs

England U18 Counties Squad:

Backs:  Jacob Atkins (St Pauls School),  Myles Bean (King Edward VI School),  Ruaridh Dawson (RGS Newcastle),  Connor Hayhow (St Paul’s School),  George Jackson (Trinity),  Aaron Martin (Bilton School), William Newett (Grammar School at Leeds),  James Shillcock (Warwick School),  James Spencer (Queen Elizabeth GS),  Benjamin Usher (Priory Academy),  Fergus Wood (Ardingly College).

Forwards:  Harrison Berresford (Hautlieu School),  Jack Conteh (Myerscough College),  Tom Doughty (St Bartholomew’s),  Joseph Duffy (Myerscough College),  Cameron Gray (The Oratory),  Max Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College),  Kiaran Knight (St Peter’s, Gloucester),  Owen McCuish (Sandbach),  John McKenzie (Runshaw College),  Dylan Morris (Reed’s),  Joshua Novell (Bede’s),  Matthew Palphreyman (Wirral Grammar School),  Justin Rowland (George Abbot),  John Whittaker (Sandbach).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top