Tyrese Johnson-Fisher inspired Oakham beat Bishop Wordsworth to reach U15 Vase final


Oakham secured a return to Twickenham for the first time since their U18s lost the Schools Cup final in 2011 as their U15s reached the NatWest Vase final after beating Bishop Wordsworth’s.

Four stunning tries from their captain and outside centre Tyrese Johnson-Fisher, including a first half hat-trick, were the main difference between the two sides as Johnson-Fisher proved an irresistible force among the excellent Oakham side, though Bishop Wordsworth’s had some outstanding periods of play in their 47-27 defeat.

Johnson-Fisher’s hat-trick began after all of 2 minutes as he burst on an outside break from inside his own half to accelerate away down the left hand side before whipping round under the posts to give his fly half Seb Davies an easy conversion.

Bishop Wordsworth edged back with a Harry Norris penalty but from the restart Oakham were back on the attack again as they utterly dominated the opening twenty minutes of the half.

On 13 minutes they were over again, George Figgis poaching a Bishop Wordsworth lineout to go barging over form short range before to minutes later we returned to the Tyrese Johnson-Fisher show as he raced away for his second try, showing stunning pace following some great work from the classy Ben Boulton-Smith. These two a surely destined to wear that famous black Oakham 1st XV shirt.

At 19-3 it felt as though Bishop Wordsworth might already be down and out, but they soon started to build some pressure of their own as they started to send their big runners in at Oakham with real pace.

It paid off after twenty minutes as full back Joe Tully capitalised on a touch of disarray to go surging over in the left hand corner, despite some desperate cover defence from Oakham. Norris’ conversion made it 19-10 and suddenly momentum really was in Bishop Wordsworth’s favour.

That felling was confired six minutes later as Tom Boxer went absolutely crashing over after a stunning break from Norris. Wordsworth were now the most dangerous looking side and Oakham looked like that big lead might not be enough as Bishop Wordsworth closed it to just 19-15.

Up stepped their captain Tyrese Johnson-Fisher though, collecting the ball in Bishop Wordsworth territory before bouncing Charlie Davis is stunningly physical fashion before accelerating through to complete a quite incredible first half hat-trick from the Oakham man.

With Davies converting Oakham once again had a comfortable lead at 26-15, and with the referee blowing for half time it was the perfect end to the half for the Rutland side.

Bishop Wordsworth came out firing in the second half though, scoring an excellent try through wing Daniel Mitchell after a long opening period of pressure to reduce the gap to just six points, before dominating for the next ten minutes or so.

However it was that man Johnson-Fisher who was to relieve all of that pressure once again for Oakham, picking the ball up deep inside his own 22 before rounding the defence and blasting away downfield, showing truly exceptional pace to score an absolutely staggering try.

Former scorer, Johnson–Fisher then turned provider, setting Ben O’Boyle free to make it 40-20 following another Davies conversion. Bishop Wordsworth were not to be deterred though and they soon hit back with a well deserved score for number Tom Boxer.

However it was ultimately to prove fruitless as Huw Davies put the icing on the cake for Oakham with a well deserved score of his own to give Oakham a 47-27 victory.

It was a well deserved return to Twickenham for the Rutland outfit, and in Tyrese Johnson-Fisher they have a man who will certainly fill that Twickenham turf with all of the quality that it deserves.

Bishop Wordsworth will be proud though, they stuck at their task valiantly, they just could not live with some of Oakham’s pace and power at times.

Full Time: Oakham 47-27 Bishop Wordsworth’s


15 Ben Boulton-Smith,  14 James Hammond,  13 Tyrese Johnson-Fisher,  12 Huw Davies,  11 Matthew Schofield,  10 Seb Davies,  9 Jack van Poortvliet;  1 Oluwatoyosi Afolabi,  2 Albert Grieve,  3 Ilya Durnetsov,  4 George Figgis,  5 Cameron Jordan,  6 Thomas West,  7 Archie Sumner,  8 Luccas Lovatt.

Replacements:  16 Alfie Ramsey,  17 Andrew Jones,  18 Will Stables,  19 Ben O’Boyle,  20 Oliver Liddar,  21 Freddie Reynolds,  22 Rory Peck.

Bishop Wordsworth:

1 Marcus Shanley  2 Ben Goldsmith  3 James McDonald  4 Daniel Perrera  5 Luke Sainsbury  6 James Kennedy  7 Ed Shanley  8 Tom Boxer  9 Tom McFarland  10 Harry Norris  11 Daniel Mitchell  12 Guy Hale (c)  13 Paddy Case  14 Charlie Davis  15 Joe Tully.

Replacements:  16 Tom Allman   17 Max Hetreed  19 Josh Cox  20 James Brown  21 James Robson  5 Adam Mercer.

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top