England U18 XV to play Portugal named

The England U18 side to face Portugal in tomorrow’s European Championship opener has been decided.

England met Portugal at the same stage last year, winning 62-5, and they went on to lift the trophy.

The England team is led in the 4pm kick off at Montauban by Blundell’s scrum half Jack Maunder, who is partnered at half back by Lymm High School’s Mark Dixon. Feslted fly half Max Malins shifts out one to inside centre.

Malins is partnered by Prince Henry’s Max Wright, with Trinity’s Gabriel Ibitoye on the right wing, and his Harlequins teammate, Wellington College flyer Sam Aspland-Robinson on the other wing. Sedbergh star Johnny McPhillips is at full back.

In the pack St Paul’s Catholic College’s Curtis Langdon hooks, with Bicton’s Ollie Daw and Prince Henry’s Charlie Capps propping either side of him. IN the second row it is another all AASE combination with Moulton College’s Tim Cardall and Bicton College’s Josh Cauldfield pairing.

The back row sees Gosforth Academy’s Joe Craggs at six, Wygesston & QE1 College’s Will Evans at openside, with Merchiston Castle (who had an eventful day at Rosslyn Park) number 8 Zach Mercer completing the pack.

Head Coach John Fletcher said ahead of the game:

“We have played Portugal a number of times in recent seasons.  We know what to expect and they will be up for the challenge. It is important we start the tournament well, put down a marker and produce a good performance that we can build on as a team over the next week or so.”

England U18 XV:

15. Johnny McPhillips (Newcastle Falcons, Sedbergh School)

14. Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins, Trinity)

13. Max Wright (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry’s)

12. Max Malins (Saracens, Felsted)

11. Sam Aspland-Robinson (Harlequins, Wellington College)

10. Mark Dixon (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS)

9. Jack Maunder (Exeter Chiefs, Blundells School)

1. Ollie Dawe (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College)

2. Curtis Langdon (London Irish, St Pauls Sunbury)

3. Charles Capps (Yorkshire Carnegie, Prince Henry’s)

4. Tim Cardall (Northampton Saints, Moulton College)

5. Josh Caulfield (Exeter Chiefs, Bicton College)

6. Joe Craggs (Newcastle Falcons, Gosforth Academy)

7. Will Evans (Leicester Tigers, Wyggeston & QEI College)

8. Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby, Merchiston Castle School)


16. Dan Frost (Bath Rugby, Filton College)

17. Jake Pope (Sale Sharks, Myerscough College)

18. Jack Edmonson (Bath Rugby, Sherborne)

19. Nick Isiekwe (Saracens, Haileybury College)

20. Archie White (Harlequins, Epsom College)

21. Will Allman (Northampton Saints, Trent College)

22. Alex Mitchell  (Sale Sharks, Lymm HS)

23. Theo Brophy Clews (London Irish, Abingdon School)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top