Ireland U19 defeat France at Marcoussis


Ireland U19 secured a brilliant away win against France U19 yesterday, winning 13-10 at the FFR HQ, Marcoussis.

All thirteen of the young Irishmen’s points came from full back David O’Mahony, with a try, a conversion, and two penalties, giving his team the win in the first of a double header against the young French side, with the two meeting again on Saturday.

O’Mahony opened the scoring with a penalty after twelve minutes, but France hit back twelve minutes later with a try, before landing a penalty to secure a 10-3 half time lead.

That was to be the end of the French scoring though as the Irish came firing out in the second half. First having a disallowed try before another O’Mahony penalty narrowed the deficit.

On 65 minutes Ireland U19 really cranked up the pressure, sending O’Mahony over in the corner after an interchange of passing including at least five players, including captain Paul Kiernan. With O’Mahony in fine form, he landed the conversion to give his side a three point lead at 13-10, which they held on to to secure the victory.

Full Time: Ireland U19 13-10 France U19

Ireland XV

15 David O’Mahony (Young Munster RFC)

14 Matthew Byrne (Terenure College RFC)

13 Conor O’Brien (Clontarf FC)

12 Paul Kiernan (UCC RFC) (c)

11 Jacob Stockdale (Queen’s University RFC)

10 Jimmy O’Brien (Newbridge College)

9 Liam Free (Glamorgan Wanderers RFC, Wales)

1 Andrew Porter (UCD RFC)

2 Vincent O’Brien (Cork Constitution FC)

3 Ben Betts (Young Munster RFC)

4 Peter Claffey (NUIG RFC)

5 Sean O’Connor (Rockwell College)

6 Greg Jones (UCD RFC)

7 Conall Boomer (Cottelsoe RFC, Australia)

8 Max Deegan (St. Michael’s College)

Replacements: Neil Reilly (Clontarf FC), John Poland (PBC Cork), Michael Melia (Terenure College), Conor Kenny (Garbally College), John Molony (Clongowes Wood College), Vakhtang Abdaladze (Clontarf FC), Hugh Sloan (Queen’s University RFC), Dan Trayers (Cistercian College Roscrea), Andrew McGrath (Ballymena Academy), Jonathan Rossborough (Ballymena RFC), Joseph White (Cork Constitution FC).

France XV

15 Robin Aulas (Lyon OU, Pôle France)

14 Karim Qadiri (RC Massy, Pôle France)

13 Louis Fajfrowski (Montpellier HRC)

12 Damian Penaud (ASM Clermont Auvergne)

11 Martin Laveau (Aviron Bayonnais, Pôle France)

10 Romuald Seguy (USA Perpignan)

9 Antoine Dupont (Castres, Pôle France)

1 Quentin Walcker (USA Perpignan, Pôle France)

2 Yohan Beheregaray (ASM Clermont Auvergne, Pôle France)

3 Mickael Simutoga (ASM Clermont Auvergne, Pôle France)

4 Guillaume Ducat (Tarbes P, Pôle France)

5 Théo Hannoyer (Castres, Pôle France)

6 Pierre Reynaud (USA Perpignan, Pôle France) (c)

7 Matthieu Voisin (Racing Métro 92, Pôle France)

8 Anthony Jelonch (Castres, Pôle France)

Replacements: Pierre Dupouy (FC Auch), Judicaël Cancoriet (RC Massy, Pôle France), Hugo Pirlet (Stade Toulousain, Pôle France), Emerick Setiano (RC Toulon), Enzo Pakihivatau (Lyon OU), Jean-Baptiste Grenod (RC Toulon, Pôle France), Boris Palu (Racing Métro 92, Pôle France), Makatuki Polutele (Aviron Bayonnais), David Delarue (CA Brive), Franck Pourteau (Stade Toulousain, Pôle France), Maëlan Rabut (RC Massy).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top