England U20 forced into further changes

England have been forced into a further change to their squad for the World Rugby U20 Championship after Gloucester’s Joe Batley was ruled out through illness.

Yorkshire Carnegie’s Josh Bainbridge, who has been in and around the squad for some time, playing against Wales in the U20 6 Nations, and has also had some first team experience at the Headingley club, comes in to replace Batley.

Bainbridge will link up with the squad tomorrow when the whole squad flies to Italy in preparation for the tournament, which starts against Japan at 17.30 on the 2nd June.

Commenting on the latest change to the squad, Head Coach Jon Callard said:

“We all really feel for Joe but the positive is, given his age, he will have the opportunity to be part of the programme next year. It wouldn’t be in his best interests to expect him to recover in time and then perform so soon after illness. The decision was made collectively with the medics and coaches. We need to do what is best for him.”

“Josh was involved earlier in the season and we now look forward to him re-joining the squad. He also has two years experience playing at this age group and will really benefit and develop through the experience of a world championship.”

England U20 Squad:

Sebastian Adeniran-Olule (Harlequins) 

Josh Bainbridge (Yorkshire Carnegie)

Charles Beckett (Leicester Tigers) 

Oli Bryant (Leicester Tigers) 

James Chisholm (Harlequins) 

Max Clark (Bath Rugby) 

Lloyd Evans (Gloucester Rugby) 

Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby, captain) 

Ellis Genge (Bristol Rugby) 

Paul Hill (Yorkshire Carnegie) 

Owen Hills (Leicester Tigers) 

Tom Howe (Wasps) 

Jack Innard (Exeter Chiefs) 

Rory Jennings (Bath Rugby) 

Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints) 

James Mitchell (Sale Sharks) 

Aaron  Morris (Saracens) 

Piers O’Conor (Wasps) 

Will Owen (Leicester Tigers) 

Howard Packman (Northampton Saints) 

Ciaran Parker (Sale Sharks) 

George Perkins (Saracens) 

Sam Skinner (Exeter Chiefs) 

Nick Tompkins (Saracens) 

Stuart Townsend (Exeter Chiefs) 

Kieran Treadwell (Harlequins) 

Jack Walker (Yorkshire Carnegie) 

Will Witty (Newcastle Falcons)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top