Everything you need to know about the World Rugby U20 Championship

The World Rugby U20 Championship (previously the IRB Junior World Championship) kicks off tomorrow afternoon.

The first round of games all take place on Tuesday, with the second round on Saturday, the third and final round of group games takes place on Wednesday 10th June ahead of semi finals day on Monday 15th, finals day is on Saturday 20th.

Holders England, who won the tournament in 2013 as well, are in Group A alongside France, Japan, and Wales, while 2012 winners South Africa are in Group B with Australia, Italy and Samoa.

The most successful side in U20 Championship history, New Zealand, are in Group C with Iraland, Argentina, and Scotland.

The Championship began in 2008, with New Zealand winning the first four editions of the tournament before South Africa and England took over for the past three years, including England’s triumph on New Zealand soil last year.

New Zealand have also had the most World Junior Player of the Year Awards since the inception of the tournament, with Luke Braid winning in 2008, Aaron Cruden in 2009, and Julian Savea in 2010.

South Africa have twice had players receive that honour, Jan Serfontein in 2012 and the brilliant Handre Pollard in 2014. Wales have also had a player win the award, Sam Davies in 2013, while in 2011 and Englishman picked up the award, Geroge Ford, who was just 18 at the time.

Those usual suspects of New Zealand, South Africa, and England look likely to be the main challengers again this year, but following an immensely tight U20 Six Nations Championship Ireland, Wales, and Scotland will fancy their chances of creating a few upsets, while France could perhaps start to fulfil their undoubted potential after this age-level.

World Rugby U20 Championship Info:

Previous Years

Past Winners:

Junior Player of the Year:

2008 – New Zealand

2008 – Luke Braid (New Zealand)

2009 – New Zealand

2009 – Aaron Cruden (New Zealand)

2010 – New Zealand

2010 – Julian Savea (New Zealand)

2011 – New Zealand

2011 – George Ford (England)

2012 – South Africa

2012 – Jan Serfontein (South Africa)

2013 – England

2013 – Sam Davies (Wales)

2014 – England

2014 – Handre Pollard (South Africa)

2015 World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures:

Tuesday 2nd June:

France 19-10 Wales (Group A) – 15.30

Ireland 18-16 Argentina (Group C) – 15.30

England 59-7 Japan (Group A) – 17.30

Australia 34-22 Samoa (Group B) – 17.30

South Africa v Italy (Group B) – 19.30

New Zealand v Scotland (Group C) – 19.30

Saturday 6th June:

Ireland v Scotland (Group C) – 15.30

France v Japan (Group A) – 15.30

New Zealand v Argentina (Group C) – 17.30

South Africa v Samoa (Group B) – 17.30

England v Wales (Group A) – 19.30

Australia v Italy (Group B) – 19.30

Wednesday 10th June:

England v France (Group A) – 15.30

Argentina v Scotland (Group C) – 15.30

Wales v Japan (Group A) – 17.30

Samoa v Italy (Group B) – 17.30

New Zealand v Ireland (Group C) – 19.30

South Africa v Australia (Group B) – 19.30

Monday 15th June:

5th Place Semi 1 – 15.30

9th Place Semi 1 – 15.30

9th Place Semi 2 – 17.30

Semi Final 1 – 17.30

5th Place Semi Final 2 – 19.30

Semi Final 2 – 19.30

Saturday 20th June:

11th Place Play off – 10.00

9th Place Play off – 12.00

7th Place Play off – 14.00

5th Place Play off – 15.30

3rd Place Play off – 17.30

Final – 19.30

2015 World Rugby U20 Championship Groups

Group A

Group B

Group C









New Zealand


South Africa


Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top