Ireland U20 set for Scotland clash at U20 World Championship

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Ireland have announced their team to play Scotland in their second game at this year’s World Rugby U20 Championship on Saturday at 15.30.

In a real group of death, New Zealand and Argentina are also in the Pool, Ireland sneaked through against Argentina, 18-16, thanks to a last minute kick from Tomas Quinlan, while Scotland took a bit of a hammering against New Zealand, making this game crucial for the Scots hopes and important for Ireland who will likely face an effective semi final play off game against New Zealand next week. Assuming New Zealand beat Argentina.

Head coach Nigel Carolan has made four changes to the side that beat Argentina, Ciaran Gaffney has recovered from an ankle injury and comes in on the right wing in an otherwise unchanged backline, with features Garry Ringrose, a member of the round 1 ‘Dream Team’ and Joey Carberry, who landed five penalties against Argentina.

There are three changes in the pack, Andrew Porter and Sean McNulty, both of Leinster, come into the front row for their U20 debuts, while in the back row Conor Oliver makes his tournament entrance, where he will be alongside the outstanding Lorcan Dow.

Speaking ahead of the game, Carolan said:

“We had a shaky start to the tournament but it’s good to have the win under our belt. We narrowly lost (17-10) to Scotland during the Six Nations this year so we are aware of the challenge ahead of us. We know we have a tough battle on our hands, but that’s what we have prepared for. We are all looking forward to the game and hopefully we can perform to our potential.”

Ireland U20 v Scotland U20 – Stadio San Michele, Calvisano, Saturday, 15.30 (BT Sport)

Ireland U20 XV:

15. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)

14. Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)

13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)

12. Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

11. Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)

10. Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)

9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (capt)

1. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)

2. Sean McNulty (UCD/Leinster)

3. Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)

4. David O’Connor (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

5. Alex Thompson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

6. Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)

7. Conor Oliver (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

8. Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)


16. Zack McCall (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

17. Liam O’Connor (Cork Constitution/Munster)

18. Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)

19. Jack Dwan (UCD/Leinster)

20. Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

21. Charlie Rock (Old Belvedere/Leinster)

22. Tomás Quinlan (Cork Constitution/Munster)

23. Jacob Stockdale (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top