England Counties U20 squad named


England Counties U20 have named their squad for their two game tour of Hungary, which begins on Thursday.

The tour takes in a game against Hungarian Barbarians on Thursday 11th June and a second fixture against Hungary U23 on Sunday 14th June. The project is part of the Unity Project, a joint initiative between the RFU, World Rugby, FIRA-AER and UK Sport forms part of the legacy plans being implemented by the RFU and falls under the wider work of World Rugby’s Rugby World Cup 2015 rugby legacy programme, ‘IMPACT beyond 2015.’

Each of the 17 European countries involved in the Unity Project is twinned with two RFU Constituent Bodies, with non-geographical CBs lending support across the board. The European nations and their allocated CBs are working together to devise and deliver development plans to support the growth of the game.

The England Counties U20 squad includes two players with experience from last year’s games against Georgia, Ben Penfold and Cameron Hudson, and each of the 22 man party will be involved in both games.

Speaking ahead of the tour, England Counties U20 Team Manager Peter Vernon said:

“We’re really looking forward to the tour, it’s going to be a stern test for our young side and our new coaching team, but we’re confident we can give a good account of ourselves.”

England Counties U20 Squad:

Backs: Mikey McDonald (Chobham and Surrey),  Jay Heath (Ilkeston, Trent College and Notts, Lincs & Derbyshire),  Robert Rekis (Blaydon and Yorkshire),  James Neal (Hartpury College and Warwickshire),  Luis Haddow (Matson and Middlesex),  Cameron Hudson (Wharfedale, Leeds University and Yorkshire),  Ellis Rudder (Havant, Cardiff Metropolitan University and Hampshire),  Ben Penfold (Cambridge),  Alex Seers (Chobham, Cardiff Metropolitan University and Surrey),  Thomas Trotter (Blackheath, St Marys University and Kent).

Forwards: Tommy Phillips (Redruth and Cornwall),  Charles Scholey (Harrogate, Newcastle University and Yorkshire),  Jack Wilkinson (Preston Grasshoppers and Lancashire),  Rory Mason (Leeds Beckett University and Yorkshire),  Ali Wade (Camberley, Leeds Beckett University and Surrey),  Todd Prisk (Redruth and Cornwall),  Angus Hodges (Cinderford and Gloucestershire),  Josh Burridge (Wharfedale and Yorkshire),  Tom Edwards (Exeter University and Dorset & Wilts),  Nick Cairns (Tynedale and Northumberland),  Jack Thomas (Brighton and Sussex),  Frederick Mills (Coventry University and Berkshire).

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top