World Rugby U20 Championship Semi Finals Day Dream Team

The World Rugby U20 Championship semi finals day ‘Dream Team’ has been revealed.

The team is absolutely dominated by the two sides who make the 2015 World Rugby U20 Championship final, New Zealand, the most successful side in the tournament’s history, and England, who chase a third title in a row on Saturday.

England have five players in the ‘Dream Team’, headed up by Rory Jennings who is named in the Dream Team for the second time this tournament, having also been named in the Round 2 team. He is joined by Ellis Genge at loosehead, George Perkins on the wing, and two of his current Bath and England U20 teammates, who were also both part of the Bryanston School 1st XV with him too, Max Clark at inside centre, and England U20 captain Charlie Ewels in the second row.

In perhaps the first of what will be a week of psychological one-upmanship, New Zealand strike first by having six players named in the side to England’s five.

Three of those players are in the team for the second time his championship, hooker Liam Polwart and openside Blake Gibson were both in the Round 3 team, while record U20 Championship scorer for the Baby Blacks, Tevita Li, is named having also been in the Round 1 side.

Li is one of two stars in this Baby Blacks side who are surely guaranteed major senior success, the other being number 8 Akira Ioane, who is also named in the side alongside tighthead Atunaisa Moli and outside centre Anton Lienert-Brown.

The rest of the side is made up by France’s Tristan Labouteley in the second row, Lautaro Velez of Argentina at scrum half, and two Australians, Jonah Placid at full back, and Ned Hannigan, also named in Round 1’s team, at blindside flanker.

World Rugby U20 Championship – Semi Finals Day Dream Team

1 Ellis Genge (England)

2 Liam Polwart (New Zealand)

3 Atunaisa Moli (New Zealand)

4 Tristan Labouteley (France)

5 Charlie Ewels (England)

6 Ned Hannigan (Australia)

7 Blake Gibson (New Zealand)

8 Akira Ioane (New Zealand)

9 Lautaro Velez (Argentina)

10 Rory Jennings (England)

11 Tevita Li (New Zealand)

12 Max Clark (England)

13 Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)

14 George Perkins (England)

15 Jonah Placid (Australia)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Back to top