World Rugby U20 Championship finals day results & standings

The final day of the World Rugby U20 Championship saw New Zealand lift the trophy after they defeat the reigning champions England 21-16.

That result gave New Zealand a fifth title, their first since 2011 which was their fourth in a row, you can see the report from that game here: World Rugby U20 Championship Final.

In the third place play off the pre tournament favourites South Africa bounced back from their semi final defeat to England, beating France by a handsome 31-18.

It was disappointment for Wales in the 5th place play off, they went down narrowly to Australia, 28-23, to lose that one.

The 7th place play off went Ireland’s way, they beat Scotland 17-9. However that was a positive for both sides, as 8th was Scotland’s highest ever finish in this competition.

Argentina sealed 9th with a 38-21 win over Japan, and there was finally some joy for Italy as they just sneaked to victory over Samoa in the 11th place play off, winning 20-19. The result relegates Samoa to the second tier U20 competition next year.

For another year then the U20 World Championship is over, New Zealand back on top after four year’s with England relinquishing the crown they have held since 2013.

It is to England that the competition will head to next, with Manchester hosting the 2016 edition of the tournament, where England will look to regain the title on home soil.

Finals Day Results (Saturday 20th June):

Italy 20-19 Samoa 11th Place Play off

Argentina 38-21 Japan 9th Place Play off

Ireland 17-9 Scotland 7th Place Play off

Wales 23-28 Australia 5th Place Play off

France 18-31 South Africa 3rd Place Play off

England 16-21 New Zealand Final

2015 World Rugby U20 Championship Final Standings:

1 – New Zealand

2 – England

3 – South Africa

4 – France

5 – Australia

6 – Wales

7 – Ireland

8 – Scotland

9 – Argentina

10 – Japan

11 – Italy

12 – Samoa

Previous Years

Past Winners:

Junior Player of the Year:

2008 – New Zealand

2008 – Luke Braid (New Zealand)

2009 – New Zealand

2009 – Aaron Cruden (New Zealand)

2010 – New Zealand

2010 – Julian Savea (New Zealand)

2011 – New Zealand

2011 – George Ford (England)

2012 – South Africa

2012 – Jan Serfontein (South Africa)

2013 – England

2013 – Sam Davies (Wales)

2014 – England

2014 – Handre Pollard (South Africa)

Leave a Response

Leave a Reply

Related Articles

Back to top