AASE Final: Sensational Hartpury College make it 7 in a row

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Hartpury College won an incredible seventh AASE title in a row at Allianz Park as they beat Bicton College 39-12 under the floodlights.


It is a quite remarkable feat, this incredible College has won every single edition of the AASE league since its inception in the 2009/10 season. On today’s evidence, there is no sign of that record slowing any time soon.


They scored seven tries in total, which tells you what you need to know, had they converted them, they could have neared the fifty points tally.


There was little that Bicton could do to stop it. They played well, scoring a pair of tries of their own and at times frustrated the Gloucestershire side, but against some of the players they were facing, there are times when you simply cannot stop what is coming.


That was the case with one Hartpury College player in particular, scrum half Harry Randell.


The diminutive number 9 was a livewire all game. His ability to spot a gap, think quickly, or take advantage of broken field was unrivalled.


He picked up two tries, one in each half. The first from a beautiful little show and go, the second from some typically smart and fast work as he took a quick tap penalty from five metres out.


He was far from the only player to impress, Robbie Smith, playing at outside centre, was one of many others who at times looked unplayable. He picked up a try after twelve minutes, adding to an earlier score from Rhys Tudor to make it 12-0.


Hooker Jordan Linney then added a third shortly before the break to put Hartpury 17-0 up going into the break.



That pattern continued early in the second half as Randall scored his first to send his team 24-0 up with fly half Robbie Forbes’ conversion. However Bicton then spoiled the Hartpury script somewhat as they scored a deserved and well worked try through scrum half Joe Snow.


Both sides shortly after picked up a yellow card each after a bit of a scruffle, but once the teams were back up to their full compliment, that was when Hartpury picked their moment to accelerate away and put they game completely beyond any lingering doubt that there might have been.


In ten quick minutes they scored three tries, through wing Harry Robinson, then Randall’s smart second effort, followed by a strong punching drive from number 8 Morgan Morris.


That blast of points put them 39-5 in front, and impressive total by any standards.


To Bicton’s eternal credit though, they refused to bow out. No matter what emerged, they must bear in mind that nobody has ever managed to hold off Hartpury in one of these games. Champions of the Southern Division is a fine achievement in itself.


They capped that fine achievement off with a try at the death from an interception by fly half Harvey Skinner, who converted his own score to leave the final score at 39-12.


The plaudits though must, of course, go to Hartpury College. They were, are, sensational. Their performances in this competition year on year are quite simply breakthaking. In any competition, to win seven in succession is phenomenal.


They now have more AASE titles in succession than Colston’s did Schools Cups in succession.


That one stat ought to tell you all you need to know. Hartpury College, simply the best.


Full Time: Hartpury College 39-12 Bicton College


AASE Championship Final Teams & Scorers
Hartpury College Pos Bicton College
Steffan Gibbon 1 Jed Kerkin
Jordan Liney (1T) 2 Matt Symons
Harry Bowen 3 Marcus Street
Seb Mummery 4 Louis Groves
Russel Upton 5 Dan Swain
Ceri Silvester (c) 6 Nat Bayet
Aaron Hinkley 7 Sam Daly
Morgan Morris (1T) 8 Charlie Wright
Harry Randell (2T) 9 Joe Snow (1T)
Robbie Forbes (2C) 10 Harvey Skinner (1T,1C)
Harry Robinson (1T) 11 Joe Clark
Robbie Smith (1T) 12 Rabbie Hansford
Ben Boorman 13 Ryan Lee
Rhys Tudor (1T) 14 Jack Sullivan
Daniel Openshaw 15 Ed Pope
Jacob Parker 16 James Kenny
Mason Emery 17 Josh Mynett
Rhys Longden 18 Joe Mawle
Ed Bennion 19 Aaron Thomson
Alex Janes 20 Elliott Smith
Charlie Chapman 21 Josh Mackin
Tom Webb 22 Aaron Bagwell
Mason Tonks 23 Kye Munslow
Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top