U18 Academy Premiership Roundup: Irish & Gloucester flying high


This weekend U18 Academy Premiership saw London Irish and Gloucester maintain their perfect starts to the campaign.


London Irish made it four wins from four with an excellent 44-10 victory over Bath, putting them five points clear in the Southern Conference ahead of second placed Wasps.


Wasps themselves also picked up a win though, just edging a nervy affair against Exeter Chiefs by a point, 20-19.


The third game in the South saw Saracens host Bristol at Simon Langton School. Both sides arrived at the game without a win so far in this year’s league but it was Saracens who were to change that statistic, beating the Championship Academy side 26-17.


Over in the Northern Conference Leicester Tigers charged up the table as they beat a good Sale Sharks side by a commanding 26-5 scoreline, bumping them up to third in the table, level on point with second placed Worcester.


Worcester were unable to build on their points total this weekend though after their game at Franklin’s Gardens against Northampton Saints had to be postponed due to a waterlogged pitch.


That meant that the only other game to take place in the Northern Conference this weekend was Gloucester’s long trip up to Kingston Park to play Newcastle Falcons.


The Cherry and Whites were in fine form once again, winning 33-17, leaving them ten points clear at the top of the conference.


Next weekend there is more U18 Academy Premiership action before the league takes a week long break ahead of the final two rounds at the end of January.


If you have any photos or team news from the weekend’s U18 action, please do send them in to writers@fifteenrugby.com


U18 Academy Premiership Results:


London Irish 44-10 Bath

Sale Sharks 5-26 Leicester Tigers

Northampton Saints v Worcester Warriors – Cancelled (Waterlogged pitches)

Saracens 26-17 Bristol

Wasps 20-19 Exeter Chiefs

Newcastle Falcons 17-33 Gloucester


Team News:


London Irish v Bath


London Irish – N/A

Bath – N/A


Sale Sharks v Leicester Tigers


Sale Sharks

15. Cameron Redpath, 14. Calum Owen, 13. Ben Watson, 12. Jack Beavers, 11. Ali Wealthall, 10. Alex Burrage, 9. Will Hodgson, 1. George Williams, 2. Ben Gregory, 3. Jamie Ross, 4. Charlie Pozniak, 5 George Bordill, 6. Tom Curry, 7. Ben Curry, 8. Sam Moore,

Replacements: 16. Ben Martin, 17. Monty Weatherby, 18. Scott Southwell, 19. Sam Dugdale, 20. George Blackwell, 21. Luke James, 22. Kieran Wilkinson, 23. Arron Reed.

Leicester Tigers – N/A


Saracens v Bristol

Saracens – N/A

Bristol – N/A


Wasps v Exeter Chiefs



1 George Probyn 2 Jamie Cox 3 Osman Dimen 4 Jack Holford 5 Joe Tunney 6 James Seabrook 7 Seun Coker 8 Tom Willis 9 Will Porter 10 Connor Eastgate 11 Ollie Brown 12 Nico Petros 13 Caleb Shepherd 14 Matt Ilube 15 Charlton Kerr.

Replacements: 16 Alex Pentecost 17 Funbi Osuntaki 18 George Strainge 19 Sam Miller 20 Matt Handcock 21 Alex Crocker 22 Finn Pietersen 23 Harry Hanley.

Exeter Chiefs

1 Jed Kerkin 2 Matt Symons 3 Marcus Street 4 Louis Groves 5 Dan Swain 6 Will Gibson 7 Sam Daly (c) 8 Charlie Wright 9 Joe Snow 10 Harvey Skinner 11 AJ Cant 12 Sam Brown 13 Declan Mattews 14 Aaron Chapman 15 Toby Williams.

Replacements: 16 Louis Powell 17 Adam Wright 18 Liam Hilliar 19 Dan Head 20 Aaron Thompson 21 Aaron Bagwell 22 Ryan Lee 23 Matt Morrish.


Newcastle Falcons v Gloucester


Newcastle Falcons

1 Rowan Hall-Beasley 2 Jamie Blamire 3 Tristan Grant 4 Max Davies 5 Josh Williams 6 Connor Beswick 7 Joe Towers 8 Jack Johnson 9 Charlie Gowling 10 Ryan Foreman 11 Adam Radwan 12 Charlie Wilson 13 Ben Stevenson 14 Ikenna Obonna 15 James Elliot.

Replacements: 16 Ryan Allen 17 Larry Mew 18 Scott Merrin 19 Archie Erskine 20 Lewis Roxby 21 Joe Pickering 22 Fraser McNee 23 Tom Briggs.


15 Dan Openshaw 14 Mason Tonks 13 Ryhs Tudor 12 Tom Seabrook 11 Harry Robinson 10 Robbie Forbes 9 Harry Randall 1 Alex Seville 2 Henry Walker 3 Ciaran Knight 4 Callum Allen 5 Alex Craig 6 Ceri Silvester 7 Morgan Morris (c) 8 Harry Wilson.

Replacements: 16 Bowen 17 Will Haly 18 Mason Emery 19 Seb Mummery 20 Aaron Hinkley 21 Carwyn Penny 22 Eric White 23 Charlie Chapman.

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top