Reed’s 7s: Reed’s 7s draw revealed, Champions Pangbourne given tough group

The draw for the 2016 Reed’s 7s has been made, with twelve teams coming together on Sunday 28th February.


The twelve teams are split into four groups of three, with the winners progressing to the Cup semi finals, second place the Bowl semi finals, and third for the Shield semi finals.


Winners of those semi finals will compete for each of those trophies respectively, meanwhile the losers of those semi finals will compete for the Plate, Trophy, and Spoon respectively.


Last year Pangbourne College lifted the main Cup, beating Feslted in the final. The reigning champions are placed in a tough group this year though, Group D, which includes one of the strongest sides of the fifteen-a-side circuit, Seaford College, and Eastbourne College, who enjoyed one of their best season’s for a few years.


The runners up, Feslted, are in Group B. Their opponents will be Kent College and a tricky game against Hurstpierpoint College.


As hosts, Reed’s are in Group A. It promises to be a highly competitive group with both New Hall and Shiplake College looking capable of pushing to top the group.


Shiplake College actually hold their own 7s tournament a few weeks prior to the Reed’s 7s (you can see the draw here – Shiplake 7s) and a number of the sides here will also be competing at Shiplake, including Hurstpierpoint, and Seaford.


Finally to Group C, where St John’s Leatherhead will be the favourites, but where Royal Hospital School will give them a real challenge and Wisbech Grammar School will look to compete hard too.


With an early Easter, it will not be long following the conclusion of the Reed’s 7s before the biggest events on the 7s calendar start to creep up, the Surrey 7s on Wednesday 9th March and the HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s from the 14th to the 18th. This year, perhaps more than ever, these early tournaments are going to be vital for preparation, such is the short lead in time before Rosslyn Park.


Reed’s 7s Draw
Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
New HallFelstedRoyal Hospital SchoolEastbourne College
Reed’sHurstpierpoint CollegeSt John’s, LeatherheadPangbourne College
Shiplake CollegeKent CollegeWisbech Grammar SchoolSeaford College
Back to top