U18 Academy Premiership: Roundup as Gloucester remain unbeaten


Gloucester maintained their perfect season so far in the U18 Academy Premiership with a win over Leicester Tigers to keep them at the top of the Northern Division.


A 17-10 win was enough to take them out to 23 points from a possible 25, the best return of any side in either division so far.


Saturday’s other game in the Northern Division saw Northampton Saints beat Yorkshire Carnegie by a commanding 39-7. It leaves the Leeds club still without a win at the foot of the division, while Northampton Saints, for now at least, move up to second in the division, though thirteen points behind Gloucester.


Meanwhile on Sunday afternoon Sale Sharks surprised the previously in form Worcester Warriors U18 side with a strong 24-14 win to move them up the table.


Wasps moved level with London Irish at the top of the Southern Conference after they enjoyed a comfortable 32-12 victory over Bristol, who are still searching for their first win at the foot of the table.


Saracens managed to leapfrog Bath in the table after they meat the South West side 38-13 at Millfield, making it two wins from their four games now.


The final game in the South saw Harlequins go down 20-15 to a good Exeter Chiefs side at Surrey Sports Park, a pair of late tries making for a very dramatic finish.


The final two rounds of the U18 Academy Premiership take place on the 23rd and 31st January. The league then culminates on Monday 15th February at Allianz Park with finals day, where the teams play against the sides who finished in the same respective positions as them in the opposite division, so first in the north plays first in the south, and so on.


If you have any photos, videos, or reports from this weekend’s U18 Premiership games, please do send them in to writers@fifteenrugby.com


U18 Academy Competition Results:


Yorkshire Carnegie 7-39 Northampton Saints

Gloucester 17-10 Leicester Tigers

Bath 13-38 Saracens

Harlequins 15-20 Exeter Chiefs

Wasps 32-12 Bristol

Sale Sharks 24-14 Worcester Warriors




Yorkshire Carnegie v Northampton Saints


Yorkshire Carnegie


1. Jack Wafer 2. Luke Chadwick 3. Charlie Capps 4. Shaun Crouch 5. Ben Longton 6. Hugo Tasker 7. Lewis Wilson (c) 8. James Sanderson 9. Ollie Fox   10. Harry Davey 11. Harry Boyd 12. Max Wright 13. Suva Ma’asi 14. James Pinder 15. Louis Brown.

Replacements: 16. Harry Newborn 17. Adam Leetham 18. Will Dennis 19. Ben Whyte 20. Tom Williams 21. Sam Pocklington 22. Connor Field 23. Jonny Ashman.


Northampton Saints


15 Oli Burgess 14 Adam Shaw 13 Freddie McKibbin (c) 12 Fraser Strachan 11 Adrain Sanday 10 James Grayson 9 Alex Mitchell 1 George Cave 2 Alex Rayment  3 Ehren Painter 4 Alan Gregory 5 Jasper Dix  6 Jake Carter  7 Matt Watson  8 Sam Easton.

Replacements: 16 Rob Marmion 17 Devante Onojaife 18 Rhys Charalambous 19 Ben Kelland  20 Tom Brown  21 Ben Richardson  22 Gregor Haldane 23 Jamel Hamilton.


Gloucester v Leicester Tigers




15 Dan Openshaw 14 Rhys Tudor 13 Mason Tonks 12 Eric White 11 Harry Robinson 10 Robbie Forbes 9 Harry Randall (c) 1 Alex Seville 2 Henry Walker 3 Ciaran Knight 4 Callum Allen 5 Alex Craig 6 Harry Wilson 7 Aaron Hinckley 8 Morgan Morris.

Replacements: 16 Mason Emery 17 Will Haly 18 Harry Bowen 19 Seb Mummery 20 Ed Bennion 21 Ceri Silverster 22 Tom Seabrook 23 Charlie Chapman.


Leicester Tigers – N/A


Bath v Saracens




1 Will Vaughan (SGS Filton) 2 Gabriel Oghre (c) (Millfield) 3 Jack Edmondson (Senior Academy/Bath Uni) 4 Matt Solway (King’s Bruton) 5 Rhys Davies (Millfield) 6 Dan Marek (Richard Huish College) 7 Miles Reid (Beechen Cliff) 8 Roddy Denness (Bryanston) 9 Cameron Brown (Millfield) 10 Will Flinn (Bath Uni) 11 Henry Martin (Marlborough College) 12 Kieran Griffiths (Millfield) 13 James Thorne (Canford) 14 Dan Solway (King’s Bruton) 15 Harry Close (Millfield).

Replacements: 16 Jack Hurley (Beechen Cliff) 17 Jake Knight (Beechen Cliff) 18 Jamie Bettesworth (Beechen Cliff) 19 George Brophy (Millfield) 20 Harry Short (Beechen Cliff) 21 Joe Jones (KES Bath)   22 Jacob Ford (Harrow)   23 Tom Lewis (Sherborne School).


Saracens – N/A


Harlequins v Exeter Chiefs


Harlequins (from)


Forwards: Paul Marshall, Alex Bidwell, George Head, Sam Gratton, Kareem Swandell, John Okafor, Henry Paremain, Cameron Hyne, Nathan Thomas, James Gulliver, Luke James, Callum Tilleray, Dino Lamb-Cona.

Backs: Niall Saunders, Cadan Murley, Max Coyle, Gabriel Ibitoye, Silas-Paul Johnson, Marcus Smith, Tom Nicole, David Olajiga, Rory McMichael, Sam Morley.


Exeter Chiefs


1 Jed Kerkin 2 Matt Symons 3 Marcus Street 4 Louis Groves 5 Dan Swain 6 Will Gibson 7 Sam Daly (capt) 8 Charlie Wright 9 Joe Snow 10 Harvey Skinner 11 AJ Cant 12 Declan Matthews 13 Aaron Chapman 14 Matt Morrish 15 Joe Elderkin.

Replacements: 16 Luis Powell 17 Adam Wright 18 Liam Hilliar 19 Dan Head 20 Charlie Fettney 21 Aaron Bagwell 22 Sam Brown 23 Ryan Lee.


Wasps v Bristol


Wasps – N/A




1. Ross 2. Rye 3. Sims 4. Dun (c) 5. Jones 6. Capon 7. Taylor 8. Gannaway 9. Barton 10. Morley 11. Caven 12. Mayes 13. Josh Wright 14. Green 15. Murphy.

Replacements: 16. Barrow 17. Rowland 18. Parsons 19. Smart 20. Ryan 21. Leaker 22. Newey 23.Jack Wright.


Sale Sharks v Worcester Warriors


Sale Sharks


15. Cameron Redpath, 14. Calum Owen, 13. Ben Watson, 12. Jack Beavers, 11. Michael Forrest, 10. Alex Burrage, 9. Will Hodgson, 1. George Williams, 2. Ben Gregory, 3. Jamie Ross, 4. Charlie Pozniak, 5 George Bordill, 6. George Blackwell, 7. Ben Curry, 8. Sam Moore.

Replacements: 16. Ben Martin, 17. Monty Weatherby, 18. Scott Southwell, 19. Sam Dugdale, 20. Luke James, 21. Ali Wealthall, 22. Kieran Wilkinson, 23. Arron Reed.


Worcester Warriors


15 Alex Nisbet (Bromsgrove School) 14 Alex Hearle (Shropshire College) 13 Robbie Smith (Hartpury College) 12 Will Butler (Hereford Cathedral School) 11 Blake Edwards (Bromsgrove School) 10 Sam Hollingsworth (Worcester Sixth Form College/AASE) 9 George Wooton (Bromsgrove School) 1 James Page 2 Bec Cutting (Bromsgrove School) 3 Nick Rigby (Warwick School) 4 Lawrence Weston (Bromsgrove School) 5 Justin Clegg 6 Ted Hill (Worcester Sixth Form College/AASE) 7 Tom Ford (Bromsgrove School) 8 Ben Fowles (C) (Solihull School).

Replacements: 16 George Newman (Worcester Sixth Form College/AASE) 17 Ben Davies-Moore (Worcester Sixth Form College/AASE) 18 Freddie Hemmingway (John Kyrle High School) 19 James Scott (Malvern College) 20 Tom Dodd (Warwick School) 21 Jacob Ham (King’s Worcester) 22 Ollie Allsopp (Malvern College) 23 Max Craven (Worcester Sixth Form College/AASE).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top