Wales U20: Wales name squad for RBS 6 Nations opener v Ireland


Wales U20 Head Coach Jason Strange has named his side to face Ireland in their U20 RBS 6 Nations opener in Donnybrook on Friday.


There are seven players with U20 experience in the starting line up, including captain Tom Phillips.


Speaking at the announcement of the squad, Strange said:


“The side is boosted by the regional experience of some of our key players, while the younger players joining the squad have benefitted from an international pathway which has seen them progress from Wales Under 18 and the development tour to South Africa over the summer which gives the players a huge amount of confidence and bridges the gap between the two age group.”


“We want to play a fast, attacking style of rugby that will pose questions of the opposition and the 3G pitch at Donnybrook will suit that approach. Donnybrook is a traditional destination for Welsh rugby fans on a Friday night during international weekends and we hope a good crowd will turn out to support the boys.”


“We looked at the Six Nations as whole in our preparations and selection – the ultimate aim is to develop as many players as possible by exposing them to this level of international rugby.


“We have some injuries at the moment, in the forwards in particular, but we see that as an opportunity to give others a chance at this level.”


Wales U20 v Ireland (Friday 5th February, 19.35, Donnybrook):

Rhun Williams (RGC); Elis-Wyn Benham (Cardiff Blues), Harri Millard (Cardiff Blues),  Owen Watkin (Ospreys), Keelan Giles (Ospreys); Dan Jones (Scarlets), Declan Smith (Scarlets); Corey Domachowski (Cardiff Blues), Dafydd Hughes (Scarlets), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues), Adam Beard (Ospreys), Tom Phillips (captain, Scarlets), Shaun Evans (Scarlets), Harrison Keddie (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Ifan Phillips (Scarlets), Robert Lewis (Cardiff Blues), Leon Brown (Newport Gwent Dragons), Bryce Morgan (Newport Gwent  Dragons), Morgan Sieniawski  (Cardiff Blues), Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues), Joe Thomas (Ospreys).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top