U18 International: England and Wales name sides for Sunday’s clash

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

England and Wales have named their sides for Sunday’s U18 international in Aberavon.


The game, which will be live at 5pm on S4C, is the final international for the sides as they prepare for the U18 5 Nations festival towards the end of March.


England arrive having beaten Scotland last weekend, losing to France the week before, while Wales last week beat that same French side.


England select Hartpury College prop Alex Seville at loosehead, with Gosforth Academy’s Jamie Blamire at hooker, and Felsted’s Ehren Painter at tighthead.


Haileybury’s Nick Isiekwe and Hartlepool 6th form College’s Josh Williams are the second row pairing, with Oundle’s Tom Curry, man of the match against Scotland, starting at openside, Berkhamsted’s Jack Nay at blindside, and Tonbridge’s Ben Earl at number 8.


In the back line, Hartpury College scrum half Harry Randall starts against the nation of his birth, with Wellington College’s Tom Parton at fly half.


Jacob Umaga of Queen Elizabeth’s & Wyggeston and Gabriel Ibitoye of Trinity retain their places in the centres, Bush Academy’s Joe Cokanasiga starts on the left wing, with Destone College’s Levi Davis on the right, and Filton College’s Oli Graham at full back.


Wales have made four changes to their starting line up, Corey Baldwin comes in on the right wing, with Owain Leonard at scrum half. Max Williams comes in at lock, with Morgan Morris starting at number 8. Captain Aled Ward switches to blindside.


There is English interest in the Welsh side too, with Solihull’s Will Talbot Davies starting at full back, along with Hartpury’s Morris at number 8, schoolmate Jordan Linney is on the bench.


Speaking ahead of the game, England U18 Head Coach John Fletcher said:


“We always remind the players just before they run out where they come from and of their families, it is important that they recognise that they have a lot of people supporting them and wanting them to do well – that is a big part of them staying connected with who they are.”


“It is also a chance to reiterate and encourage them to go and express themselves.  We want players at this age to go and explore the game and that is very much what the programme has always been about.”


Wales Head Coach Geraint Lewis said:


“The players performed very well against France, and we have the chance with this second international to give a few others a chance to play at this level. England are always a formidable age grade side and with the tournament coming up over Easter, it’s fantastic to be able to play them twice in one season.”


“Our squad are definitely confident after beating England last year for the first time since 2007 and now France. We had a good start against them last year, and we need to be at our very best to get a result again but we certainly don’t fear nations any more. We want to challenge ourselves and play the best we possibly can to meet our own targets.”


“It’s great to be playing at home again, the home support certainly gives the players a boost and we know.”


England U18 v Wales U18 – Sunday, 17.00, Aberavon, Live on S4C


England U18

1 Alex Seville (Hartpury College)

2 Jamie Blamire (Gosforth Academy)

3 Ehren Painter (Felsted)

4 Josh Williams (Hartlepool 6th form College)

5 Nick Isiekwe (Haileybury)

6 Jack Nay (Berkhamsted)

7 Tom Curry (Oundle)

8 Ben Earl (Tonbridge)

9 Harry Randall (Hartpury College)

10 Tom Parton (Wellington College)

11 Joe Cokanasiga (Bush Academy)

12 Jacob Umaga (Queen Elizabeth & Wyggeston College)

13 Gabriel Ibitoye (Trinity)

14 Levi Davis (Denstone College)

15 Oli Graham (Filton College)


16 Henry Walker (Bromsgrove)

17 Devante Onojaife (Stowe)

18 Joseph Morris (KES Aston)

19 Max Davies (Sedbergh)

20 Lewis Wilson (Pocklington)

21 Ben White (Leicester GS)

22 James Grayson (Moulton College)

23 Sam Yawayawa (Queen Elizabeth & Wyggeston)


Wales U18

15 Will Talbot Davies (Dragons / Solihull)

14 Corey Baldwin (Scarlets/ Llandovery College)

13 Owen Lane (Blues / Cardiff/ Cowbridge)

12 Kieran Williams (Ospreys/ Glynneath/ Ystalyfera)

11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets/ Sir Gar)

10 Phil Jones (Ospreys/ Gowerton/ Gowerton)

9 Owain Leonard (Dragons/ Cross Keys / Gwynlliw)

1 Rhys Carre (Blues/ Cowbridge)

2 Corrie Tarent (Blues/ Pontypridd/ Cymoedd)

3 Christian Coleman (Dragons / Garndiffaith)

4 Max Williams (Dragons/ Newport High)

5 James Ratti (Ospreys/Gower)

6 Aled Ward (capt, Blues/ Cardiff Harlequins/ Cowbridge)

7 Will Jones (Ospreys/ Penclawdd/ Gower)

8 Morgan Morris (Gloucester/ Hartpury)


16 Jordan Liney (Ospreys/ Hartbury)

17 Eddie Drake (Blues / Cowbridge / Cowbridge)

18 Josh Reynolds (Dragons / NHSOB/ Newport High)

19 Will Griffiths (Ospreys/ Gowerton / Gowerton)

20 Joe Thomas (Dragons / Penallta / Gwent)

21 Efan Jones (Wrexham / Rydal Penrhos)

22 Ben Jones (Blues/ Treharris/ Cymoedd)

23 Declan Williams (Blues/ Cymoedd)

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on google
Leave a Response

Related Articles


Back to top