Aviva A League: Bristol United sink Saracens Storm & deny them home semi final


Saracens Storm missed out on a home semi final in the Aviva A League after losing their final league game before the semi finals 31-27 to Bristol United.


Bristol scored tries through Chris Brooker, Darren Hudson, and Will Sharratt, one of three Bristol University students in the starting fifteen, as well as a penalty try, with U18 full back Dan Powell adding eleven points with the boot.


Saracens also crossed the whitewash four times, through U20 World Championship winning duo Aaron Morris and Nathan Earle, number 8 Anthony Maka, and openside Seb Nagle-Taylor. However, they were unable to keep pace with Powell’s kicking, and some stoic Bristol defence late on gave the hosts the victory.


The result now means that Saracens finish second in the Southern Conference, with Exeter Braves finishing top.


That will see Exeter host their semi final, which will take place on Monday 25th April at Sandy Park, while Saracens will travel to Franklin’s Gardens on the same evening to take on hosts Northampton Wanderers, who finished top in the Northern Conference.


Aviva A League Result:

Bristol United 31-27 Saracens Storm


Aviva A League Semi Final Fixtures:

Exeter Braves v Newcastle Falcons A – Sandy Park

Northampton Wanderers v Saracens Storm – Franklin’s Gardens




Bristol United:

15 Dan Powell (Academy U18s/Exmouth RFC)

14 Mark Harrison (Hartpury College)

13 Charlie Esam (Bristol Uni)

12 Will Sharratt (Bristol Uni)

11 Darren Hudson

10 Jacob Perry (Hartpury College)

9 Andy Uren

1 Alec Cleary (Hartpury College)

2 Max Crumpton

3 James Hall

4 Joe Joyce

5 Glen Townson (c)

6 Sam Jeffries (Bristol Uni)

7 Chris Brooker

8 Rayn Smid

Replacements: 16 James Stephenson 17 Alfie Barron (Hartpury College) 18 Jordan Brodley (Bristol Uni) 19 Joe Dancer (Hartpury College) 20 Max Cresswell (Bristol Uni) 21 Josh Barton (Academy U18s/Millfield) 22 James Newey (Academy U18s/Christ College) 23 Ezra Caven (Academy U18s/SGS Filton).


Saracens Storm:

15 Aaron Morris

14 Rotimi Segun

13 Matthew Gallagher

12 Tim Streather

11 Nathan Earle

10 Nils Mordt (c)

9 Ben Spencer

1 Rhys Gill

2 Josh Taylor

3 Biyi Alo

4 Nick Isiekwe

5 Kieran Low

6 Kiefer Laxton

7 Seb Nagle-Taylor

8 Anthony Maka

Replacements: 16 Ben Wilkinson 17 Ralph Adams-Hale 18 Taylor Reed 19 Josh Tyler 20 Jack Nay 21 Peter White 22 Tom Whiteley 23 Jack Longhurst.

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top