HSBC Rosslyn Park National School 7s: Colts Draw

The draw for the 2017 HSBC Rosslyn Park National School 7s Colts tournaments has been made.


176 teams will compete in the Colts competition, with takes place on Tuesday 21st March and Wednesday 22nd March.


Brighton college are the defending champions and as such are placed in Group A. It could be a tricky group, with Oundle and the ever strong Scottish side Loretto, as well as Howard of Effingham, and Pocklington.


Brighton’s opposition in that 2016 final were New Hall, whom they beat 20-19 in a thriller. New Hall are at the opposite end of the draw in Group FF. They will face stiff challenges from Blundell’s and Eltham College, as well as Welsh sides Christ College Brecon and Ysgol Dyffryn Amann.


Elsewhere Sherborne are in Group B with St Paul’s are in Group C. Epsom College are in Group E, with Harrow in Group F, and a tough looking Group G with Berkhamsted and Kirkham Grammar School.


The ever strong Wellington College side are in Group H, with Hampton in a perilous Group I with the ever-strong Sedbergh School, and St Joseph’s College are in Group J. John Fisher reside in Group K, while Group L looks incredibly intense with QEGS Wakefield, Royal Hospital, Stowe, Portsmouth Grammar, and Ysgol Bro Teifi all paired together.


Group M also looks like a particularly competitive one with Whitgift, St Peter’s York, Marlborough College, Leicester Gramamr, and Aberdawe all together. Warwick are in Group N and will be a threat, while Group Q looks highly interesting with Woodhouse Grove, KES Bath, Truro School, St Benedict’s, and Denstone College all drawn together.


Group S is another strong looking one, so too Group T, while Ampleforth College and Reigate Grammar have great pedigree in the competition in Group U. Bedford sit in Group V, with Canford and KCS Wimbledon two strong sides in Group W.


Rosslyn Park legends Millfield are in Group X, Pangbourne College a big part of a strong Group Y. Group Z should see some fireworks with the likes of Bromsgrove, Eton College, and St John’s Leatherhead all in the same group.


Clifton College and Monmouth will provide similar fireworks in Group AA, particularly with Tonbridge for company, while in BB RGS High Wycombe add to an already competitive group.


Barnard Castle are in CC, with Bishop Wordsworth’s and Oakham in DD. EE will also be competitive, with Llandovery College, Queen Ethelburga’s, Judd, Worth, and Rugby School all in the same group.


HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s Colts Groups (176 Teams):


Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Brighton CollegeBirkdale HSInternational College BeirutColston’s
PocklingtonCardiff HSIpswichNorwich
Howard of EffinghamSherborneLoughboroughKing’s Macclesfield
LorettoCedarsSt Paul’sTNS Beaconhouse
OundleWorksop CollegeYarmYsgol Gyfun Bryn Tawe


Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Dr Challoner’sClayesmoreBerkhamstedBrynteg Comprehensive
Epsom CollegeHallifordCefn SaesonPerins
RickmansworthHarrowKirkham GSBrunts Academy
RodillianTorquay BGSLatymer UpperUCS
Trent CollegeYsgol Gyfun Cwm RhymniMount St Mary’s CollegeWellington College


Group IGroup JGroup KGroup L
Dean CloseLlangatwg CCPrior Park CollegeQEGS Wakefield
Devonport HSMaidstone GSDurhamRoyal Hospital School
Duke of York’s RMSShebbear CollegeJohn FisherStowe
HamptonSt Joseph’s CollegeKES StratfordPortsmouth GS
SedberghYsgol Bae BaglanYsgol Gyfun Garth OlwgYsgol Bro Teifi


Group MGroup NGroup OGroup P
AberdaweBloxhamBournemouth CollegiateCampion
Leicester GSCabotCowbridge CompHinchley Wood
Marlborough CollegeWarwickMilton AbbeyKing’s College Taunton
St Peter’s YorkYsgol Bro DinefwrWeston CollegeYsgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg
WhitgiftYsgol Sir Thomas PictonYsgol Gyfun GlantafYsgol Y Preseli


Group QGroup RGroup SGroup T
KES BathAylesbury GSLlandaff CathedralCooper’s Coborn
St Benedict’sBedford ModernCheltenham CollegeDulwich College
Denstone CollegePlymouth CollegeHymers CollegeRGS Worcester
TruroRydal PenrhosRGS NewcastleSeaford College
Woodhouse GroveSt George’s CollegeKing’s CanterburySt Anselm’s


Group UGroup VGroup WGroup X
Ampleforth CollegeBedfordBishop’s Stortford CollegeLangley
Reigate GSBristol Free SchoolCanfordMillfield
Sutton GSLord Wandsworth CollegeKCS WimbledonRutlish
WhitchurchBristol GrammarNewcastle-Under-LymeSt Olave’s GS
UffculmeUppinghamWallington CGSTiffin


Group YGroup ZGroup AAGroup BB
Ivybridge CCBromsgroveClifton CollegeCity of London Freemen’s
Pangbourne CollegeEton CollegeMonmouthEastbourne College
The PerseNewbridge CompPontyprid HSMerchant Taylors’
TrinityQEHThe OratoryRGS High Wycombe
Ysgol Gyfun GwyrSt John’s LeatherheadTonbridgeWoodbridge


Group CCGroup DDGroup EEGroup FF
Barnard CastleBishop Wordsworth’sLlandovery CollegeBlundell’s
Robert ClackOakhamQueen Ethelburga’sChrist College Brecon
ShrewsburyQES BarnetRugbyEltham College
St Edward’s OxfordWimbledon CollegeJuddNew Hall
King’s WorcesterWisbech GSWorthYsgol Dyffryn Amann

To see the draws for the other competitions at Rosslyn Park, please click the following links:

U18 Cup Draw

U18 Vase Draw

U14 Draw

Prep & Junior Draws

Girls & Girls AASE

HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s Schedule:

Monday 20 March

Junior Waterfall Tournament

Tuesday 21 March 

Colts (U16) Tournament begins

Wednesday 22 March

Vase Tournament begins

Colts Finals

Thursday 23 March

Cup Tournament begins

U14 Tournament begins

Vase Finals

Friday 24 March

U18 Girls Tournament

U18 Girls AASE Tournament

Prep School Waterfall Tournament

U14 Finals

Cup Finals

2016 Winners:

U18 Cup

Cranleigh (bt Harrow 27-19)

U18 Plate

Stowe (bt Barnard Castle 24-12)

U18 Vase

Tonbridge (bt Bedford 26-10)

U18 Bowl

King’s Macclesfield (bt St Paul’s 14-12)


Brighton College (bt New Hall 20-19)


Ivybridge Community College (bt Warwick 27-19)

U14 Plate

Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni (bt City of London Freemen’s 26-14)


Caldicott (bt Bromsgrove 12-5)


Wimbledon College (bt Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf 15-7)


Ysgol Dyffrin Amman (bt Christ’s Hospital 29-7)

Girls AASE

Hartpury College (bt Bishop Burton College 28-0)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top