HSBC Rosslyn Park National School 7s: U18 Vase Draw

The draw for the 2017 HSBC Rosslyn Park National School 7s U18 Vase has been made.


187 teams will compete for the Vase, which used to be known as the Festival. Last year it was won by Tonbridge, with Bedford finishing as runners-up, however both teams have rightly since moved up to the main Cup competition.


Stowe were in that competition last year though, winning the Plate with a 24-12 final victory over Barnard Castle. They find themselves in Group H alongside Royal Hospital School and Richard Huish, as well as South African side Michaelhouse and Welsh side Brynteg Comprehensive.


Following the groups, the winners of each group meet in a knockout elimination round, with the winners going to the Vase quarter finals and the losers heading to the Bowl quarter finals.


King’s Macclesfield won last year’s Bowl, beating St Paul’s in a dramatic final, 14-12. They are drawn this year in a very tough group including Berkhamsted, Colton’s, UCS, and New Zealander’s Nelson College.


St Paul’s, meanwhile, are in Group M alongside Cokethorpe, Downside, Coleg Gwent, and one of the most successful sides in Rosslyn Park history, Ampleforth College.


Other highlights include St Peter’s York in Group C, and NatWest Cup semi finalists Felsted in Group F, alongside the likes of Reigate Grammar and RGS Newcastle.


Epsom College will be one of the toughest sides in the competition, they are in Group N, where the unbeaten KES Bath also reside. Back to back NatWest Cup champions Bromsgrove are in Group P, with this year’s quarter-finalists also there, Judd and Manchester Grammar, as well as Cabot and Trinity.


QEGS Wakefield will be real challengers from Group R, while Group S with Eton College and Seaford College will be one to watch, Blundell’s in Group T could also be dangerous, as could St John’s Leatherhead in Group W. Oakham in Group FF could also go far, particularly given their impressive Champions Trophy performances this year.


HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s Vase Groups (187 Teams):


Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
BerkhamstedAKS ArnoldHayesBishop Gore
Colston’sChrist College BreconHymers CollegeHilton College
Nelson CollegeChurcher’s CollegeLangleyRadley College
King’s MacclesfieldLorettoShawinigan Lake 2nd VIIRGS Guildford
UCSShawnigan LakeSt Peter’s YorkYsgol Bro Dinefwr


Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Millfield BFelstedBridgwater CollegeBrynteg Comprehensive
RGS WorcesterPrior Park CollegeEmanuelMichaelhouse A
Torquay BGSRGS LancasterKingswoodRichard Huish
WelbeckRGS NewcastleRoyal Alexandra & AlbertRoyal Hospital School
Ysgol Gyfun Bryn TaweWorksop CollegeWallington CGSStowe


Group IGroup JGroup KGroup L
Cheltenham CollegeDean CloseBede’sKCS Wimbledon
King’s BrutonGower CollegeDurhamMalvern College
Merchant Taylors’Lord Wandsworth CollegeEsher CollegeNew Hall
Mount KellyPocklingtonMichaelhouse BKing’s Canterbury
Ysgol Gyfun GwyrPortsmouth GSMonmouthWycliffe College


Group MGroup NGroup OGroup P
Ampleforth CollegeEpsom CollegeLlandaff CathedralBromsgrove
College GwentKES BathGravesend GSCabot
CokethorpeShore Sydney CoEKing’s College TauntonJudd
DownsideSt Olave’s GSReed’sManchester GS
St Paul’sGymraeg LlangynwydSt David’sTrinity


Group QGroup RGroup SGroup T
KES StratfordHill HouseDuke of York’s RMSBristol Grammar
Pangbourne CollegeQEGS WakefieldEton CollegeHereford Cathedral
Sir William Borlase’sSir Joseph Williamson’sGreenhillMount St Mary’s College
WellingtonYsgol Sir Thomas PictonSeaford CollegeTaunton


Group UGroup VGroup WGroup X
Bishop’s Stortford CollegeShiplake CollegeBedford ModernArdingly College
BloxhamSutton ValenceChrist’s HospitalBishop Heber HS
CampionKing JohnClayesmoreKing’s Worcester
St Dunstan’s CollegeThe OratorySt John’s LeatherheadWirral GS
Wrekin CollegeThe PerseYarmWorth


Group YGroup ZGroup AAGroup BB
Dauntsey’sLoughboroughCooper’s CobornLiverpool College
IpswichQEHEastbourne CollegeLatymer Upper
Queen’s College TauntonSt Peter’s GloucesterPlymouth CollegeMaidstone GS
Steyning GSTruroHarrodianShrewsbury
The LeysUppinghamWhitchurchTiffin


Group CCGroup DDGroup EEGroup FF
BablakeRutlishAkeley WoodEllesmere College
Bradford GSSt Edward’s OxfordMarlborough CollegeOakham
Ibstock PlaceStonyhurst CollegeMelksham OakPembrokeshire College
Milton AbbeyYsgol Gyfun Bro MorgannwgQES BarnetSevenoaks
Treorchy ComprehensiveYsgol Y PreseliWisbech GSSt John’s College Southsea


Group GGGroup HH
Coleg Sir Gar BAshville College
Eltham CollegeBassaleg
Stafford GSBrentwood
Stockport GSQueen Ethelburga’s
Weston CollegeWindsor Boys’

To see the draws for the other competitions at Rosslyn Park, please click the following links:

U18 Cup Draw

Colts Draw

U14 Draw

Prep & Junior Draws

Girls & Girls AASE

HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s Schedule:

Monday 20 March

Junior Waterfall Tournament

Tuesday 21 March 

Colts (U16) Tournament begins

Wednesday 22 March

Vase Tournament begins

Colts Finals

Thursday 23 March

Cup Tournament begins

U14 Tournament begins

Vase Finals

Friday 24 March

U18 Girls Tournament

U18 Girls AASE Tournament

Prep School Waterfall Tournament

U14 Finals

Cup Finals

2016 Winners:

U18 Cup

Cranleigh (bt Harrow 27-19)

U18 Plate

Stowe (bt Barnard Castle 24-12)

U18 Vase

Tonbridge (bt Bedford 26-10)

U18 Bowl

King’s Macclesfield (bt St Paul’s 14-12)


Brighton College (bt New Hall 20-19)


Ivybridge Community College (bt Warwick 27-19)

U14 Plate

Ysgol Gyfun Cwm Rhymni (bt City of London Freemen’s 26-14)


Caldicott (bt Bromsgrove 12-5)


Wimbledon College (bt Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf 15-7)


Ysgol Dyffrin Amman (bt Christ’s Hospital 29-7)

Girls AASE

Hartpury College (bt Bishop Burton College 28-0)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top