U20 6 Nations: Ireland name U20 squad for 2017 6 Nations


Ireland have named their U20 squad for the forthcoming U20 6 Nations campaign.


Head Coach Nigel Carolan has selected a 32-man squad, with three players from the 2016 campaign included. Last year’s squad finished in third place, before going on to reach the World Rugby U20 Championship final in June.


The three players retained are Corinthians and Connacht lock Cillian Gallagher, Shannon and Munster back rower John Foley, and Ballynahinch and Ulster fly half Johnny McPhillips.


The squad will be captained by Leinster back Jack Kelly, and will begin their campaign away at Broadwood Stadium against Scotland, kicking off at 20.30 on February 3rd. They then follow that the next week away at Italy before a home game against France at Donnybrook on February 24th.


March 11th brings a trip to Wales, with the championship culminating in a St Patrick’s Day clash against England, again in Donnybrook.


Speaking at the squad announcement, Carolan said:


“As is the nature of U20 rugby, we have a new-look squad this season, with just a few of last year’s players returning, so it will be a new and exciting challenge for both the players and management. We had a number of camps before Christmas and the attitude and enthusiasm that the players brought with them to these camps has been extremely positive.”


“While international rugby at U20 level will be new to the most of these players, the majority of them have all come through the IRFU Player Pathway and will have worn the green jersey at U18 and U19 levels. Several of the squad have also gotten good game-time with their provincial ‘A’ teams in the British & Irish Cup this season, so that should stand to them. “


“The U-20 Six Nations Championship is always an exciting competition, but we’ll be taking it one game at a time and we’re looking forward to getting things underway against Scotland on Friday week.”


Ireland U20 Squad:



Paul Boyle (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/Leinster)

Joey Conway (UL Bohemians/Munster)

Gavin Coombes (Young Munster/Munster)

Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne/Leinster)

John Foley (Shannon/Munster)

Cillian Gallagher (Corinthians/Connacht)

Ronan Kelleher (UCD/Leinster)

Sean Masterson (Corinthians/Leinster)

Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

Rory Mulvihill (UCD/Leinster)

Marcus Rea (Queen’s University/Ulster)

Jack Regan (UCD/Leinster)

Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)



Rory Butler (Queen’s University/Ulster)

Peadar Collins (Garryowen/Munster)

Liam Coombes (Garryowen/Munster)

Conor Dean (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)

Colm Hogan (Dublin University/Munster)

Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster)

Jack Kelly (Dublin University/Leinster) (capt)

Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

Jack Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)

Robert Lyttle (Queen’s University/Ulster)

Johnny McPhillips (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

Gavin Mullin (UCD/Leinster)

Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)

Tommy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/Ulster)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top