U20 6 Nations: New look Ireland name team for 6 Nations opener

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Ireland have named their side to face Scotland on Friday night in their U20 6 Nations opener away at Broadwood Stadium.


There are just two players in the team with previous U20 experience, and Head Coach Nigel Carolan will be hoping that they are able to use that experience of helping Ireland to last year’s World Rugby U20 Championship final to help guide this side through the campaign.


The two players are blindside Cillian Gallagher, and former Sedbergh School fly half, Johnny McPhillips.


Speaking to Ireland Rugby ahead of the game, Carolan said:


“As is the nature of U20 rugby, there is fresh look to the side, the majority of the guys haven’t played at this level before however many have gotten good game-time with their provincial ‘A’ teams in the British & Irish Cup this season, so that should stand to them.”


“We are looking forward to starting the Six Nations. Training has gone well and the boys have gelled as a group. We are taking the tournament one game at a time and are looking forward to kicking things off in Scotland on Friday night.”


To see the Scotland U20 side, please follow this link: Scotland U20 XV to play Ireland.


Ireland U20 v Scotland U20: Broadwood Stadium, Friday, 20.30 (Live on RTE 2).


Ireland U20 XV:

15 Jack Kelly (Dublin University/Leinster) (capt)

14 Jordan Larmour (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)

13 Gavin Mullin (UCD/Leinster)

12 Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster)

11 Colm Hogan (Dublin University/Munster)

10 Johnny McPhillips (Ballynahinch/Ulster)

9 Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University/Ulster)

1 Joey Conway (UL Bohemians/Munster)

2 Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

3 Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

4 Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster/Munster)

5 Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne/Leinster)

6 Cillian Gallagher (Corinthians/Connacht)

7 Paul Boyle (Lansdowne/Leinster)

8 Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)


16 Adam Moloney (Shannon/Munster)

17 Rory Mulvihill (UCD/Leinster)

18 Charlie Connolly (Dublin University/Leinster)

19 Jack Regan (UCD/Leinster)

20 Marcus Rea (Queen’s University/Ulster)

21 Jack Lyons (Young Munster/Munster)

22 Conor Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)

23 Tommy O’Brien (UCD/Leinster)

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top