U20 6 Nations: Scotland name side for opening fixture v Ireland


Scotland have named their side for their opening game of the U20 6 Nations against Ireland U20 at Broadwood Stadium.


There are plenty of familiar names in Sean Lineen’s squad for readers south of the border, including Harlequins’ Robbie Nairn on the right wing, Bishop Burton College’s George Thornton at looshead, Alex Craig of Gloucester in the second row, and the big ball carrying Tom Dodd of Worcester Warriors at number 8.


Matt Fagerson, younger brother of Scotland prop Zander, starts on the openside, while Stirling County’s Callum Hunter-Hill captains the side from the second row. Completing the pack are Hunter-Hill’s clubmate Adam Nicol at tighthead and Hawick’s Fraser Renwick at hooker.


Joining Nairn in the back three are Melrose’s Ross McCann on the left wing and Hawick’s Darcy Graham at full back. The centre partnership sees another Stirling County player in the form of Craig Pringle at 13, with Currie’s Cameron Hutchinson at inside centre. The half backs, meanwhile, see Heriot’s Andrew Simmers at scrum half and Glasgow Hawks’ Josh Henderson at fly half.


Speaking to Scottish Rugby ahead of the game, Lineen said:


“A lot of players have made a statement during the preparation camps and their hard work and effort has merited a spot in the side for Friday’s Championship opener. A lot of those involved this week are new to the international stage, but they have the quality to compete and we have no doubt they will rise to the occasion.”


“Ireland are going to be physical and astute, and we’ll have to be at the top of our game to match them in all facets. However, we’re going to relish in the challenge and we look forward to doing so in front of our home support.”


To see the Ireland U20 XV, please follow this link: Ireland U20 XV to play Scotland.


Scotland U20 v Ireland U20 – Broadwood Stadium, Friday, 20.30.


Scotland U20 XV

15 Darcy Graham (Hawick)

14 Robbie Nairn (Harlequins)

13 Craig Pringle (Stirling County)

12 Cameron Hutchison (Currie)

11 Ross McCann (Melrose)

10 Josh Henderson (Glasgow Hawks)

9 Andrew Simmers (Heriot’s)

1 George Thornton (Bishop Burton College)

2 Fraser Renwick (Hawick)

3 Adam Nicol (Stirling County)

4 Alex Craig (Gloucester)

5 Callum Hunter-Hill (c) (Stirling County)

6 Luke Crosbie (Currie)

7 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Hawks)

8 Tom Dodd (Worcester Warriors)


16 Robbie Smith (Ayr)

17 Daniel Winning (Boroughmuir)

18 Fergus Bradbury (Stirling County)

19 Hamish Bain (Currie)

20 Jamie Ure (Boroughmuir)

21 Bruce Flockhart (Glasgow Hawks)

22 Charlie Shiel (Currie)

23 Stafford McDowall (Ayr)

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top