U20 6 Nations: Scotland name side for Calcutta Cup clash


Scotland have named their U20 side to face England on Saturday evening at Northampton Saints’ Franklin’s Gardens.


The game is part of a Calcutta Cup quadruple header, with the U18s playing on Sunday, while the women and men’s senior side kick off on Saturday too.


The 6.15pm kick off will be shown live on Sky Sports, and Scotland U20 Head Coach Sean Lineen was made seven changes to the side that lost heavily to Wales in the last round.


Harlequins’ Robbie Nairn returns to the side on the left wing, with Cameron Hutchinson and Bristol University’s Ali Grieg coming into the centre berths, Andew Simmers comes in at scrum half.


In the pack Bishop Burton College’s George Thornton gets the nod, with rising star Matt Fagerson returning at openside after a head knock, Bruce Flockhart also enters the fray at blindside.


Flockhart’s introduction sees Gloucester’s Alex Craig moves from the back row to the second row, he is one of five Exiles in the starting XV, with Worcester Warriors’ Tom Dodd the fifth at Number 8.


Speaking to Scottish Rugby ahead of the game, Lineen said:


“We’ve made wholesale changes as a number players return from injury to re-enter the fray, while others merit selection after impressing off the bench against Wales. A poor start against Wales cost us any chance of getting a result and we know we need a more complete performance if we are to challenge England on their home patch.”


“We’re yet to put together an 80-minute performance and we need to now look at pulling the positives from our previous matches and bring them to the fore in this encounter.”


England U20 v Scotland U20 – Saturday 11th March, 6.15pm kick off, Franklin’s Gardens – Live on Sky Sports


Scotland U20 XV

15 Stafford McDowall (Ayr), 14 Robbie Nairn (Harlequins), 13 Ali Grieg (Bristol University), 12 Cameron Hutchison (Currie), 11 Darcy Graham (Hawick), 10 Josh Henderson (Glasgow Hawks), 9 Andrew Simmers (Heriot’s), 1 George Thornton (Bishop Burton College), 2 Fraser Renwick (Hawick), 3 Adam Nicol (Stirling County), 4 Alex Craig (Gloucester Academy), 5 Callum Hunter-Hill (Stirling County, captain), 6 Bruce Flockhart (Glasgow Hawks), 7 Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Hawks), 8 Tom Dodd (Worcester Warriors).

Replacements: 16 Robbie Smith (Ayr), 17 Daniel Winning (Boroughmuir), 18 Fergus Bradbury (Stirling County), 19 Hamish Bain (Currie), 20 Jamie Ure (Boroughmuir), 21 Luke Crosbie (Currie), 22 Charlie Shiel (Currie), 23 Craig Pringle (Stirling County).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top