Rugby School International School 7s


On Friday 24th and Saturday 25th March a very special 7s tournament will take place at Rugby School.


The famous school, inventors of the game of rugby, have their 450th Anniversary this year and to celebrate they will host an International School 7s Tournament over those two days.


Twelve schools, from the four corners of the United Kingdom, South Africa, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada will gather at the very spot where William Webb Ellis first picked up the ball and ran with it.


The twelve teams are split into two groups of six, with the group games taking place over the course of Friday 2th March.


On Saturday the knockout stages take over. The Top two from each group head for the Cup semis, third and fourth for the Plate semis, and 5th and 6th for the Bowl semis.


Losers of each semi final will play in their own minor placings final, so losers in the Cu semis will compete for 3rd place, Plate semis final losers in for 7th, and Bowl semi final losers for 11th.


Rugby School will host the competition from Group A. Their international competition are South Africa’s Hilton College, Shore School of Syndey, Australia, and Japan’s Oita Maizuru. Their local competition is Scotland’s Fettes College, and another of England’s longest playing rugby schools, Marlborough College.


Group B’s English representative is another of the oldest playing rugby schools, Clifton College. Their international opposition are Canadian school, Shawnigan Lake, New Zealand’s Nelson college, and South Africa’s Michaelhouse. Joining that group from Northern Ireland are Royal Belfast Academy, and Welsh school Llandovery College.


Those winning silverware on the Saturday will have their honours presented by England’s most capped player, and a World Cup winner, Jason Leonard, who will be one of a number of former stars of the game in attendance.


The event is a ticketed affair, details of which can be found via this link:


Rugby School International 7s – Group Draw – Fri 24th-Sat 25th March
Group AGroup B
Fettes College (Scotland)Clifton College (England)
Hilton College (South Africa)Llandovery College (Wales)
Marlborough College (England)Michaelhouse (South Africa)
Oita Maizuru (Japan)Nelson College (New Zealand)
Rugby School (England)Royal Belfast Academy (N Ireland)
Shore School, Sydney (Australia)Shawnigan Lake School (Canada)


Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top