U20 6 Nations: Wales name side to face France


Wales have named their side for their final game of the 2017 U20 6 Nations, against France at the Stade Sapiac in Montauban on Friday (8.05pm kick off).


The Welsh have made four changes to the side that beat Ireland 41-24 last weekend, with scrum half Reuben Morgan-Williams, one of those who won the U20 Grand Slam last year, coming in along with outside centre Ioan Nicholas.


Tighthead Steff Thomas also comes in, while Sedbergh old boy James Botham returns to the starting XV, this time in his preferred position of openside. Botham is joined by another former English schoolboy, ex Hartpury College flanker Sid Blackmore, now at back.


Speaking to Wales Rugby ahead of the game, head coach Jason Strange said:


“By Friday we’ll have involved 31 players throughout this U20 Six Nations campaign, which was always one of our aims, it’s to the whole squad’s credit that the team has performed consistently well despite those changes and, better yet, have shown improvements in each game.”


“We’ve been delighted with our results, but it’s been more pleasing for us as coaches to see the progress they’re making as a team, getting more game time for players in the squad is invaluable too. We expect France to be very physical. It’s another huge challenge for our players, but one they’ll look forward to.”


France U20 v Wales U20 – Friday 17th March, Stade Sapiac, Montauban, 8.05pm kick off – Live on BBC 2 Wales.


Wales U20 XV

15 Rhun Williams (Cardiff Blues), 14 Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), 13 Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), 12 Keiran Williams (c) (Ospreys), 11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), 10 Ben Jones (Cardiff Blues), 9 Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), 1 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues), 2 Corrie Tarrant (Cardiff Blues), 3 Steff Thomas (Scarlets), 4 Alex Dombrandt (Cardiff Met), 5 Sean Moore (Pontypridd), 6 Shane Lewis-Hughes (Cardiff Blues), 7 James Botham (Cardiff Blues), 8 Aled Ward (Cardiff Blues).

Replacements: 16 Ellis Shipp (Newport Gwent Dragons), 17 Tom Mably (Cardiff Blues), 18 Keiron Assiratti (Cardiff Blues), 19 Jack Pope (Bridgend), 20 Sid Blackmore (Bath), 21 Dane Blacker (Cardiff Blues), 22 Arwel Robson (Newport Gwent Dragons), 23 Owen Lane (Cardiff Blues).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top