Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s: New Juniors format provides plenty of entertainment


The 2017 Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s tournament kicked off in style today with the Junior Waterfall Tournament.


Eight schools went through the entire day without defeat in what was a long and intense day of rugby, which saw almost all four season’s worth of weather occur in just one day.


There was some outstanding rugby played throughout the day, with 132 teams competing. Some of the rugby would have been fit for the U18s later in the week, one particular passage that caught our eye was between Yarm and Gordano, which saw just about every player on the pitch gain possession of the ball at least twice before a wonderful try was scored. Sevens at its most pure and at its very best.


Though the Junior Tournament has no winners this year, in accordance with the England Rugby Age-Grade Rugby reforms, the winners of the initial groups were placed in 11 ‘A Group’ second phase groups, second place went into ‘B Group’ second phase groups, third into ‘C Group’, and fourth into ‘D Group’.


So there was sense therefore of who the schools at the upper end were. There for the winners of those 11 ‘A Groups’ can consider themselves among the very best around, Whitgift, Dubai College, Rodillian Academy, Royal Hospital School, Judd, QEH, Torquay Boys Grammar, Solihull, KES Bath, Devonport High School, and RGS Lancaster.


Of those eleven schools, eight came away with perfect records from the day, and were exceptional throughout.


Whitgift topped Group C and then went off to head QEGS Wakefield and Halliford in A1, over in A2, Dubai College were also unbeaten, having gone through Group D in style.


Royal Hospital School also ran through the day unbeaten topping Group K before beating Cardiff High and Stockport Grammar to secure A4, Judd, meanwhile were unbeaten in A5 after seeing off the competition in Group M, with QEH in A6 another unbeaten side. They saw off New Hall and Dartford Grammar, having secured top spot in Group P.


Over in Group A8, Solihull added Hampton and Bedford Modern to list of schools they had beaten, which included all of Group V in Phase 1.


KES Bath were top of the pile in A9, having also topped Group Z, while Devonport High, the Group BB Winners were also unbeaten in A10.


There was plenty of other excitement throughout the day, not just in the top groups, but there was also some fascinating action away from the pitches. In the HSBC hub, former England 7s star Chris Cracknell spoke engagingly about his experiences in being part of the coaching team that took Fiji to Olympic Gold back in the summer, as we saw an emotional and insightful video about their journey to that gold medal.


You can see that video below – while the videos of Chris’ Q&A with the audience are available on our Facebook Page after we recorded them on Facebook Live.



Tomorrow sees the Colts tournament begin, you can see the draw for that competition here: Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s Colts Draw.


All in all, a wonderful start to this year’s Rosslyn Park 7s!


Do make sure to stay in touch throughout the week – on Twitter @FifteenRugbyXV Facebook (, instagram @fifteenrugbyXV and on email,


HSBC Rosslyn Park National Schools 7s Junior Waterfall Tournament:


Phase 2 Groups – Final Standings (Top to Bottm)


A Groups (Winners of Phase 1 Groups)

Whitgift, Royal Hospital School, QEH, Solihull, KES Bath, Devonport, Judd, Dubai College


WhitgiftDubai CollegeRodillianRoyal Hospital School
QEGS WakefieldLlanishen HSYsgol Gyfun PlasmawrCardiff HS
HallifordTrinityFulham BoysStockport Grammar School


JuddQEHTorquay Boys GrammarSolihull
Ivybridge Community CollNew HallJohn FisherHampton
GunnersburyDartford Grammar SchoolDulwich College (ALL EVEN)Bedford Modern


KES BathDevonport High SchoolRGS Lancaster
Cowbridge ComprehensiveSevenoaksSt Ambrose College
WarwickRGS ColchesterTreorchy Comprehensive


B Groups (2nd in Phase 1 Groups)


Waterloo SchoolsSkinners’Howard of EffinghamSt Peter’s Gloucester
MonmouthRGS WorcesterBrentwoodAkeley Wood School
Brynteg ComprehensiveMount St Mary’s CollegePortsmouth Grammar SchoolSt Dunstan’s College


WoodbridgeManchester GrammarReed’sSt Olave’s GS
Merchiston CastleChislehurst & SidcupDubai CollegeKing John
UffculmeEggar’sYsgol Gyfun Cymer RhonddaSir Joseph Williamson’s


PocklingtonRGS High WycombeLondon Oratory
Barnard CastleSt John BaptistBishop Vesey’s Grammar School
QES BarnetWallington County GrammarQueen Ethelburga’s


C Groups (3rd in Phase 1 Groups)


CryptGymraeg Bro EdernStanwellChurcher’s College
Ysgol Gyfun GlantafLoughboroughYsgol Gyfun Garth OlwgHarris Academy
Whitchurch High SchoolYsgol Bae BaglanGeorge AbbotThe Oratory


St Benedict’sSt John’s College, SouthseaReigate Grammar SchoolSt Joseph’s College
CedarsLlangatwgYsgol Gyfun Cwm RhymniCity of London Freemen’s
Queen’s College, TauntonEmanuelSt Bartholomew’sBarry Comprehensive


RGS GuildfordSt Anselm’s CollegeSt George’s, Weybridge
Y Pant ComprehensiveKing’s WorcesterCwmtawe Comprehensive
BirkdaleWilmington Grammar SchoolWisbech Grammar School


D Groups (4th in Phase 1 Groups)


Prior Park CollegeNewbridgeHill HouseShiplake College
Leicester Grammar SchoolBerkhamstedUCSKew House
PerinsFitzalan HSYsgol Gyfun Bryn TaweBirchgrove Comprehensive


Wellan Park AcademyYarmLincroftYsgol Gyfun Gwyr
Cabot Learning FederationOakhamRGS NewcastleKES Birmingham
Bishop GoreGordanoKing’s MacclesfieldStafford Grammar School


Gordon’sHaileyburyCoopers Company & Coborn
LangleyRutlishYsgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg
Gymraeg LlangynwydDover CollegeChrist College, Brecon


Phase 1 Groups – Final Standings (Top to Bottom)


Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
HallifordQEGS WakefieldWhitgiftDubai English Speaking
Waterloo SchoolsMonmouthBrynteg CompSkinners’
Ysgol Gyfun GlantafWhitchurch HSCryptGymraeg Bro Edern
PerinsPrior Park CollegeLeicester Grammar SchoolBerkhamsted


Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
TrinityLlanishen HSFulham Boys SchoolRodillian
RGS WorcesterMount St Mary’s CollegeBrentwoodPortsmouth GS
LoughboroughYsgol Bae BaglanYsgol Gyfun Garth OlwgStanwell
NewbridgeFitzalan HSUCSYsgol Gyfun Bryn Tawe


Group IGroup JGroup KGroup L
Ysgol Gyfun PlasmawrStockport GSRoyal Hospital SchoolCardiff HS
Howard of EffinghamAkeley WoodSt Peter’s GloucesterSt Dunstan’s College
George AbbotHarris City AcademyChurcher’s CollegeThe Oratory
Hill HouseKew HouseBirchgrove ComprehensiveShiplake College


Group MGroup NGroup OGroup P
JuddGunnersburyIvybridge CommunityQEH
UffculmeMerchiston CastleWoodbridgeManchester Grammar
Queen’s College, TauntonCedarsSt Benedict’sEmanuel
Cabot Learning FederationBishop GoreWelland ParkGordano


Group QGroup RGroup SGroup T
Dartford Grammar SchoolYarmJohn FisherTorquay BGS
Chislehurst & SidcupEggar’s SchoolYsgol Gyfun Cymer RhonddaReed’s
LlangatwgSt John’s CollegeSt Bartholomew’sReigate Grammar School
OakhamYarmKing’s MacclesfieldRGS Newcastle


Group UGroup VGroup WGroup X
Dulwich CollegeSolihullBedford Modern SchoolHampton
Dubai CollegeSir Joseph Williamson’sKing JohnSt Olave’s GS
Cwm RhymniCity of London Freemen’sBarry ComprehensiveSt Joseph’s College
LincroftYsgol Gyfun GwyrKES BirminghamStafford Grammar School


Group YGroup ZGroup AAGroup BB
WarwickKES BathCowbridge ComprehensiveDevonport
PocklingtonBarnard CastleQES BarnetRGS High Wycombe
RGS GuildfordBirkdaleY PantSt Anselm’s College
Gymraeg LlangynwydLangleyGordon’sDover College


Group CCGroup DDGroup EEGroup FF
RGS ColchesterSevenoaksSt Ambrose CollegeTreorchy Comprehensive
Wallington CGSSt John BaptsistBishop Vesey’s GSQueen Ethelburga’s
Wilmington GSKing’s WorcesterWisbech GSSt George’s College
RutlishHaileyburyCooper’s CobornChrist College, Brecon


Group GG
RGS Lancaster
London Oratory
Cwmtawe Comprehensive
Ysgol Gyfun Bro Morgannwg
Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top