U15 NatWest Bowl: Inaugural NatWest Bowl final a thrilling success

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The first ever U15 NatWest Bowl Champions are Beths Grammar School, after they beat Pocklington 37-27 at Worcester Warriors’ Sixways Stadium in the final.


It was an extraordinary game, with both sides scoring a hatful of points, producing the sort of entertainment that is often missed in these high-pressure finals.


Beths skipper and number 8, Daniel Ademola, was the undoubted star of the show, scoring a wonderful four tries in a display of power, pace, and skill that was unmatched by anyone else on the field.


Two of those tries helped his team to a 20-15 lead at the half time break, but it was in the second half where the game truly kicked into life.


Pocklington, showing great determination, scored first to take a 22-20 lead before a further two tries from Ademola were key for Beths as the upped the tempo and the passion over and over. The noise from the crowd kept on building further, and there was a real party atmosphere at Sixways as Beths took a 32-27 lead.


This Pocklington side is a good one though, and they were not going to let their Sixways dream fizzle out, and with five minutes remaining on the clock, they scored a crucial try to close the gap to 32-27.


The Yorkshire support was now in full voice, and their team suddenly looked like the one with the belief to go all the way.


Perhaps they would have against another side, but this brilliant Beths group held their nerve, recovered their composure, and sent left wing Ishmael Mansaray away down the left hand touchline to score the try to seal the game with just seconds left on the clock.


It was a wonderful end to a brilliant game of rugby. Both teams showed extraordinary spirit throughout, but in the end Ademola and his support cast were just a bit too good for Pocklington, and so impressively composed at the end to seal the victory in style.


Full Time: Beths Grammar School 37-27 Pocklington


U15 NatWest Bowl Final Teams
Beths Grammar School Pos Pocklington
Tom Sealy 1 Edward Hasdell
Liam Schiess 2 Archie Raper
Harry McGurik 3 John Wright
Joshua Joseph – Iyanda 4 Michael Smith (c)
Nathan Grant 5 Freddie-Bickley Parton
Nathaniel Ticehurst 6 Cameron Adams
Fin Nichols 7 Afonso Spencer
Daniel Ademola (c) 8 Henry Hughes
Laurence Ticehurst 9 Harry Jones
Ted Burrows 10 Louis Sangwin
Ishamel Mansaray 11 Ben Maycock
Dan Mitchell 12 Sam Dyson
James Powell 13 Harry Matthews
Lucas Nathan 14 Edward James
Spike Weekes 15 William Dare
Martin Ryan 16 Tom Duggleby
Niall Schiess 17 Tom Quirke
Muhammed Mohamed 18 William Watts
Ryan Nyathi 19 Alfie Hall
Dan Cunningham 20 Harry Cowan
Josh Howard 21 Kobby Fofie
Jerry Adegoke 22 Oscar Hawksworth
Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top