London Floodlit 7s set to thrill on Thursday night

The annual London Floodlit 7s takes place at Rosslyn Park on Thursday night, with some of the top clubs in the country meeting at The Rock.


Tickets are still available on the Rosslyn Park website (Floodlit 7s tickets) for this brilliant event.


Rambling Jesters are the reigning champions, and they are drawn in Pool A alongside Bath University and Seventy 7s, with Rambling Jesters v Seventy 7s kicking off the tournament at 5pm. It is sure to be an exciting game, with both sides likely to have plenty of recent school stars involved, with Ramblin Jesters being coached by Hampton School’s David Mobbs-Smith, and Seventy7s being coached by Saracens’ former Millfield star, Tom Whiteley.


Pool B sees Bristol and Esher up against perennial winners, Harlequins, who recently won the Melrose 7s. They are captained by Charlie Walkers, and feature two players straight from school, England U18 international Max Coyle of Reigate Grammar, and KCS Wimbledon captain and Scotland U18 international, Jake Hennessey, as well as fellow academy stars, Robbie Nairn, Sam Aspland-Robinson, Archie White, Gabriel Ibitoye, and Dino Lamb-Cona, all of whom have starred at either U18 or U20 international level. Bristol, meanwhile include former Millfield star Callum Sheedy as well as two U18s of their own in the form of SGS Filton pair Dan Thurston and Lailand Gordon.


Pool C includes Rosslyn Park’s fellow National 1 opponents, Loughborough University, as well as Gloucester, who include a number of exciting young players such as Mason Tonks, Lloyd Evans, Ben Vellacot, and the departing young superstar, Mat Protheroe, and Worcester Warriors, who also include two schoolboys in the form of Alex Forrester and Charlie Jeavons-Fellows, as well as Scotland U20 international, Tom Dodd. Pool D, meanwhile, includes the hosts, Rosslyn Park, London Irish, and The Army.


The winners of each pool will meet in the Cup semi finals, ahead of the final at 10.20pm, while the best two runners up will meet in the Bowl final.


London Floodlit 7s Draw
Pool APool BPool CPool D
Rambling Jesters 7sBristolGloucesterLondon Irish
Bath UniversityEsherLoughborough UniversityRosslyn Park
Seventy7sHarlequinsWorcester WarriorsThe Army




17.00 Rambling Jesters v Seventy7s

17.20 Harlequins v Esher

17.40 Worcester Warriors v Loughborough University

18.00 London Irish v The Army

18.20 Bath University v Seventy 7s

18.40 Bristol v Esher

19.00 Gloucester v Loughborough University

19.20 Rosslyn Park v The Army

19.40 Rambling Jesters v Bath University

20.00 Harlequins v Bristol

20.20 Worcester Warriors v Bristol

20.40 London Irish v Rosslyn Park

21.00 Semi Final 1 – Pool A Winner v Pool B Winner

21.20 Semi Final 2 – Pool C Winner v Pool D Winner

22.00 Bowl Final – Best Runner Up v 2nd Best Runner Up

22.20 Cup Final – Winner Semi Final 1 v Winner Semi Final 2


Confirmed Squads:


Bath University – TBA



1 Mike Uren (Clifton RFC), 2 John Hawkins, 3 BJ Edwards, 4 Callum Sheedy, 5 Nick Carpenter, 6 Robbie Forbes (Hartpury), 7 Maliq Holden (Hartpury), 8 Mark Cooke (Blackheath RFC), 9 Dan Thurston (SGS College & Bristol U18s), 10 Lailand Gordon (SGS College & Bristol U18s).



Joe Beckett (c), Devlin Hope, Lloyd Davies, Ashley Smith, Rupert Giles, Josh Jenson, Andreas Robertson, Harry Delaney, Cam Roberts, Jack Forrest, Oli Day, Hubert Dampier, George Bvuma, Conor Lambert.



1 Mason Tonks, 2 Dan Thomas, 3 Tom Hudson, 4 Ben Vellacott, 5 Lloyd Evans, 6 Jake Morris, 7 Harry Robinson, 8 Mat Protheroe, 9 Will Safe, 10 Harry Wilson, 11 Charlie Chapman, 12 Carwyn Penny.



1 Dino Lamb-Cona, 2 Calum Waters, 3 Elia Elia, 4 Jonas Mikalcius, 5 Gabriel Ibitoye, 6 Archie White, 7 Ross Chisholm, 8 Sam Aspland-Robinson, 9 Charlie Walker (c), 10 Max Coyle, 11 Jake Hennessey, 12 Robbie Nairn.


London Irish – TBA


Loughborough University – TBA


Rambing Jesters – TBA


Rosslyn Park – TBA



1 Chris Smart, 2 Louis Powell-Voegt, 3 Jermaine Olasan, 5 Luke Cuff-Burnett, 7 Harry Whiteley, 8 Charlie Whiteley, 9 Tom Bednall, 10 Patrick Lufkin, 12 Pietro De Besi, 15 Shaquille Jack, 16 Josh Christie, 19 Dom Tripp.


Worcester Warriors

Jonny Arr, Connor Braid, Will Butler, Tom Dodd, Tiff Eden, Alex Forrester (Warriors U18s), Ben Fowles, Alex Grove (Birmingham Moseley), Afeafe Haisila Lokotui, Ben Howard, Charlie Jeavons-Fellows (Warriors U18s).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top