World Rugby U20 Championships: Ireland name squad for World Championships


Ireland have named their squad to compete in the forthcoming World Rugby U20 Championships in Georgia.


Head Coach Peter Malone has named a 28-man squad for the tournament, which kicks off on Wednesday 31st May.


Ireland are in Group B, alongside Scotland, Italy, and perennial winners, New Zealand. Despite a tough pool, Ireland will be confident of success though, having reached last year’s final.


Injuries could be a problem though, the squad, led by Leinster’s Paul Boyle, has already had the blow of losing five players, including fly half options Bill Johnston and Jonny Mc Phillips, as well as star outside back Jordan Larmour, along with Cillian Gallagher and Tommy O’Brien.


The squad includes a number of new members since the U20 6 Nations Championship, including U19 internationals Jordan Duggan, Angus Curtis, David McCarthy, Alan Tynan, and Michael Sylvester.



There are some new faces in the squad, with U19s players Jordan Duggan, Angus Curtis, David McCarthy, Alan Tynan and Michael Sylvester all being named.


Speaking at the squad announcement, Malone said to


“It’s an exciting time for these players, as they will all be experiencing a World Championship for the first time. It’s a great opportunity for them, to go out and pit themselves against their peers from around the world.”


“We’ve lost a number of players who were involved during the Six Nations through injury, so it’s very unlucky for those guys not to be involved, but it gives other players the chance to wear the green jersey on the world stage.”


“We’re in a really strong pool with Italy and Scotland who made us work really hard for wins during the Six Nations, and then New Zealand who will have a number of players back from last year’s tournament so they will be a huge test for us.”


Ireland U20 Squad:



Paul Boyle (Lansdowne FC/Leinster, captain)

Charlie Connolly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Joey Conway (UL Bohemians RFC/Munster)

Gavin Coombes (Young Munster RFC/Munster)

Peter Cooper (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)

Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

Oisin Dowling (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)

John Foley (Shannon RFC/Munster)

Ronan Kelleher (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Sean Masterson (Corinthians RFC/Connacht)

Tadgh McElroy (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Greg McGrath (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Marcus Rea (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Jack Regan (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Fineen Wycherley (Young Munster RFC/Munster)



Angus Curtis (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Conor Dean (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Ciaran Frawley (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Colm Hogan (Dublin University FC/Munster)

Jack Kelly (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

David McCarthy (Garryowen FC/Munster)

Gavin Mullin (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)

Jack Stafford (Shannon RFC/Munster)

Jonathan Stewart (Queen’s University Belfast RFC/Ulster)

Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Alan Tynan (Young Munster/Munster)


Ireland’s World Rugby U20 Championship Fixtures:

Wednesday 31st May – Italy (3.30pm, 12.30pm BST)

Sunday 4th June – Scotland (1pm, 10am BST)

Thursday 8th June – New Zealand (3.30pm, 12.30pm BST)

Tuesday 13th June – Semi-finals and knock-out matches

Sunday 18th June – Final and knock-out matches


2017 World Rugby U20 Championships Pools
Pool APool BPool C
SamoaNew ZealandGeorgia
WalesScotlandSouth Africa
Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top