Former school stars set to turn out for England Counties U20

England Counties U20 have named their side to face the Netherlands ‘A’ on Wednesday evening.


The game, kicking off at 6.30pm at the National Rugby Centre in Amsterdam, is the first in a two game series against the Dutch, with the second taking place on Saturday.


The exciting line-up includes some of school rugby’s brightest stars of recent years, including the likes of Seb Cecil, Nick Ashcroft, Charlie Venables, and former ISRFC Lambs captain Sam Hudson, as well as a hugely exciting centre pairing in the form of Kirkham Grammar School old boy Connor Wilkinson, and the former Bedford School star, Ollie Burgess.


Richie Williams leads the coaching tam, with Paul Arnold assisting, while John Young was the chairman of selectors. Speaking on the selection for the game, he said:


“This is an exciting opportunity for these players to showcase their talent and develop their decision making and leadership qualities,” said chairman of selectors John Young. Their selection is the culmination of hard work, diligence and enthusiasm to succeed.”


England Counties U20 v Netherlands ‘A’ – Wednesday 7th June, 18.30 kick off, National Rugby Centre, Amsterdam


England Counties U20 XV:

1 Seb Brownhill (Bishop’s Stortford/Hertfordshire)

2 Chris Taylor (Preston GrassHoppers/Cheshire)

3 Karl Garside (Old Albanians/Herfordshire)

4 Cameron Gray (Coventry/Warwickshire)

5 Nick Ashcroft (Fylde/Lancashire)

6 Seb Cecil (University of Nottingham and Nottingham Academy/East Midlands)

7 Sam Bailey (Bournemouth/Loughborough and Dorset & Wiltshire)

8 Sam Hudson (Otley and Loughborough University/Yorkshire)

9 Josh Nott (Broadstreet and Nottingham Academy/Warwickshire)

10 Fraser Honey (Cornish All Blacks/Cornwall)

11 Tom Carleton (Fylde and Manchester Met/Lancashire)

12 Connor Wilkinson (Fylde and Manchester Met/Lancashire)

13 Ollie Burgess (Old Albanians/East Midlands)

14 Charlie Venables (Leeds Beckett/Cheshire)

15 Tobias Robinson (St Austell/Cornwall)

Replacements: 16 John Whittaker (Sandbach/Cheshire), 17 Griffi Whitson (Reading University/Berkshire), 18 William Dennis (Harrogate/Yorkshire), 19 Tui Uru (Ipswich/Eastern Counties), 20 Rob Fogerty(Brighton Blues/Sussex), 21 Matt Bendin (Hertfordshire), 22 Will Luxford (Old Elthamians/Kent).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top