U20 6 Nations: Ireland name U20 NatWest 6 Nations squad

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Ireland have named their squad for the forthcoming NatWest U20 Six Nations Championship.


Head Coach Noel McNamara has named a 32-man squad, with eighteen forwards and fourteen backs.


Eleven of the squad have previously featured for the U20 side, including centre Tommy O’Brien, who has been named as captain. Fellow centres Angus Curtis and David McCarthy also featured last year, as did back three men Mark Keane and Michael Silverster.


Elsewhere in the squad two hookers, Ronan Kelleher and Diarmuid Barron both appeared last time out, as did prop Jordan Duggan and back rower Sean Masterson. There is a potentially experienced half back pairing too, in Jonny Stewart and Conor Dean.


Speaking to Irish Rugby ahead of the campaign, McNamara said:


“It’s an exciting time for the players and the coaching team. There have been some tight calls across the board and it’s great to see that competition for places. Also, with 11 players who were involved last season, there is some good experience across the squad.”


“The players have all been working hard over the past number of months and we’re confident in the ability of the squad that we have selected.”


Ireland U20 Squad:



Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s /Leinster)

Matthew Agnew (Ballymenia/Ulster)

Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen /Munster)

Joe Byrne (Dublin University /Leinster)

Ronan Coffey (Shannon /Munster)

Matthew Dalton (Malone /Ulster)

Cormac Daly (Clontarf /Leinster)

Jordan Duggan (Naas /Leinster)

Jack Dunne (Dublin University /Leinster)

Joe Dunleavy (Malone /Ulster)

James French (UCC /Munster)

Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch /Ulster)

Max Kearney (Dublin University /Leinster)

Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne /Leinster)

Sean Masterson (Corinthians /Connacht)

Jack O’Sullivan (UCC /Munster)

Tom O’Toole (Banbridge /Ulster)

Charlie Ryan (UCD /Leinster)



Harry Byrne (UCD /Leinster)

Angus Curtis (Queen’s University /Ulster)

Conor Dean (St. Mary’s /Leinster)

Conor Hayes (Young Munster /Munster)

Mark Keane (Queen’s University)

Angus Kernohan (Ballymena /Ulster)

David McCarthy (Garryowen /Munster)

James McCarthy (UL Bohemian /Munster)

Sean O’Brien (Clontarf /Leinster)

Tommy O’Brien (UCD /Leinster, captain)

Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf /Leinster)

Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University /Ulster)

Michael Silvester (Dublin University /Leinster)

Peter Sullivan (Lansdowne /Leinster)

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top