U20 6 Nations: Scotland name their squad ahead of 2018 campaign

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Scotland have named an inexperienced squad for the forthcoming U20 6 Nations campaign.


24 of the 28-man squad named by new Head Coach Stevie Scott will be making their debut at this level. Shaun Gunn, Paddy Dewhirst, Stafford McDowell, and former Uppingham School second row Archie Erskine are the returning players.


Erskine is one of a number of former or current English based plauers in the squad, including Bradley Clements at Ealing Trailfinders, Alan Gregory at Northumbria University, Harry Butler at Hartpury College, and Devante Onojaife at Northampton Saints, all in the forwards.


In the backline Gloucester’s Charlie Chapman is included, so too Stade Francais’ Charlie Gowling, a former Sedbergh School captain, and unattached Rory McMichael, who was at Wellington College over the last five years.


Speaking to Scottish Rugby ahead of the campaign, Head Coach Stevie Scott said:


“We’ve selected a youthful and talented squad which we believe has the ability to perform in this year’s Six Nations championship. We’ve chosen a well-rounded group of players and they’ve already shown throughout our training camp that they have the ability to pick-up and learn new plays quickly, which will be vital as we look to lay down an early marker in this year’s tournament.”


“We still have a lot of work to do as we prepare to face Wales next month, but I have every confidence that this group of players will be focused for the vital games ahead.”


Scotland U20 Squad:



Murphy Walker (Strathallan/Dundee HSFP)

Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies)

Nathan MacBeth (Golden Lions)

Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies)

Finn Hobbis (Watsonians)

Robbie Smith (Ayr)

Bradley Clements (Ealing)

Ewan Johnson (Racing 92)

Jamie Hodgson (Watsonians)

Alan Gregory (Northumbria University)

Harry Butler (Hartpury)

Dan Marek (Boroughmuir)

Martin Hughes (Heriot’s)

Archie Erskine (Boroughmuir)

Guy Graham (Hawick)

Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints)



Kaleem Baretto (Marr)

Charlie Chapman (Gloucester)

Charlie Gowling (Stade Francais)

Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks)

Callum McLelland (Edinburgh Rugby)

Logan Trotter (Stirling County)

Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks)

Sam Yawayawa (Glasgow Hawks)

Rory McMichael (Unattached)

Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr)

Mark New (Glasgow Hawks)

Stafford McDowell (Ayr)

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top