U20 6 Nations: Ireland & Scotland name teams for Donnybrook clash

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Ireland and Scotland have named their teams for Friday night’s U20 6 Nations clash.


Kicking off at Donnybrook in Dublin at 7.15pm, the two sides come in after contrasting results last time out. Ireland lost out in a thriller against Wales, while Scotland enjoyed a stunning second half comeback to beat England at Myreside.


Scotland Head Coach Stevie Scott makes two changes, with Rory Darge coming in for injured openside Guy Graham, while former Bedford star Fraser Strachan of Northampton Saints comes in for Callum McLellan, again due to injury.


He is one of three Northampton Saints in the Scotland squad, with Devante Onojaife, formerly of Stowe School, and number 8 once again, while St Joseph’s College pupil Marshall Sykes is again on the bench.


They are not the only Exiles or former Exiles in the 23, former Wellington College star Rory McMichael is once again on the right wing, with Gloucester’s Charlie Chapman at scrum half, and Ealing Trailfinders’ Bradley Clements as the replacement hooker. Racing 92’s Ewan Johnson is again in the second row, while the Lions’ Nathan McBeth is once more on the bench.


Commenting ahead of the game to Scottish Rugby, Stevie Scott said:


“The boys will have taken a lot from the England win. It was a big result for us and one that the squad will remember for a long time. Ireland is another tough fixture. We’re on the road which always adds another challenge, but they certainly won’t take us lightly.”


“The squad have trained hard this week and it’s a game we’re looking forward to. It’s important that we get back out there and put in another strong performance.”


Ireland head Coach Noel McNamara has made 7 changes after that defeat to Wales last time out, James French and Tom O’Toole come in for their first starts as props.


Behind them, Matthew Dalton comes back in after some time in the Ulster senior side, while in the back row Joe Dunleavy will make his debut.


In the backs Hugh O’Sullivan comes in for his second start, while Mark Keane and Angus Kenohan comes in for their championship debuts on the wing, which allows skipper Tommy O”Brien to return to the centres after a stint on the wing last time out.


Commenting on his side, Noel McNamara said:


“It’s set to be another good challenge for the players on Friday night. Everyone was disappointed with the result against Wales, so it’s an opportunity to finish our time in Donnybrook on a positive note.’


“We’ve made some changes for Friday night and I know the management team are looking forward to seeing those players go out and show what they can do.Scotland will be arriving into Dublin off the back of a good win over England, so they will be full of confidence coming into the game. The games between ourselves and Scotland have been close affairs over the last few seasons, so we’re expecting another tough encounter this Friday night.”


Ireland U20 v Scotland U20 – Friday 9th March, 7.15pm, Donnybrook, Dublin


Ireland U20

15 Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster), 14 Angus Kernohan (Ballymena RFC/Ulster), 13 Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC/Leinster, captain), 12 Angus Curtis (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster), 11 Mark Keane (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster), 10 Harry Byrne (UCD RFC/Leinster), 9 Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf FC/Leinster), 1 James French (UCC RFC/Munster), 2 Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne FC/ Leinster), 3 Tom O’Toole (Banbridge RFC/Ulster), 4 Matthew Dalton (Malone RFC/Ulster), 5 Jack Dunne (Dublin University FC/Leinster), 6 Joe Dunleavy (Malone RFC/Ulster), 7 Matthew Agnew (Ballymena RFC/Ulster), 8 Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster).

Replacements: 16. AN Other, 17 Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster), 18 Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster), 19 Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC/Leinster), 20 Ronan Foley (UCD RFC/Leinster), 21 Jonny Stewart (Queen’s University RFC/Ulster), 22 Conor Dean (St.Mary’s College RFC/Leinster), 23 James Hume (Banbridge RFC/Ulster).


Scotland U20 XV

15 Paddy Dewhirst (Ayr), 14 Rory McMichael (Glasgow Hawks), 13 Fraser Strachan (Northampton Saints), 12 Stafford McDowall (Ayr, vc), 11 Kyle Rowe (Glasgow Hawks), 10 Ross Thompson (Glasgow Hawks), 9 Charlie Chapman (Gloucester), 1 Shaun Gunn (Edinburgh Accies), 2 Robbie Smith (Ayr, captain), 3 Finlay Richardson (Edinburgh Accies), 4 Ewan Johnson (Racing 92), 5 Jamie Hodgson (Watsonains), 6 Martin Hughes (Heriots), 7 Rory Darge (Melrose), 8 Devante Onojaife (Northampton Saints).

Replacements: 16 Bradley Clements (Ealing), 17 Nathan McBeth (Lions), 18 Murphy Walker (Dundee HSFP), 19 Marshall Sykes (St Joseph’s College/Northampton Saints), 20 Connor Boyle (Stewart’s Melville College), 21 Kaleem Barreto (Marr), 22 Mark New (Glasgow Hawks), 23 Logan Trotter (Stirling County).

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top