U20 6 Nations: Wales name XV to face France on Friday

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Wales U20 have named their side to face France on Friday evening in their final U20 6 Nations game of the campaign.


The 8.15pm kick off sees Leicester Tigers flanker Tommy Reffell return to the side as captain at blindside flanker, which sees former Sedbergh School man James Botham move over to openside flanker.


On the bench, meanwhile, former Millfield second row Rhys Davies, now at Bath, comes in.


Elsewhere Ioan Nicholas returns at 12, with Ryan Conbeer coming back in on the wing after their involvements in the Guinness Pro 14 last week, while Reuben Morgan Williams makes his first start of the campaign after a busy schedule with the Ospreys, he starts at scrum half, with 17-year-old Harri Morgan dropping to the bench.


Up front Iestyn Harris comes in at hooker, while Alun Lawrence comes into the starting line up in the second row alongside Max Williams.


Looking ahead to the game, Head Coach Jason Strange said:


“We’re under no illusions about the challenge France will bring on Friday night, they’re one of the most complete teams in the competition, with no real weaknesses. We would have liked to be going into this match on the back of a win against Italy because it would have come down to a Championship decider, but not doing so will give us even more motivation.”


“After our last game we had a very honest and frank review. The Italy game was frustrating, mainly around the fact that we didn’t get our game going at all. However, this is a very talented team, and I’m sure we’ll see a positive response on Friday.”


Wales U20 v France U20 – Friday, 8.15pm, Stadiwm ZipWorld


Wales U20 XV:

15 Tommy Rogers (Scarlets), 14 Joe Goodchild (Dragons), 13 Corey Baldwin (Scarlets), 12 Ioan Nicholas (Scarlets), 11 Ryan Conbeer (Scarlets), 10 Cai Evans (Ospreys), 9 Reuben Morgan-Williams (Ospreys), 1 Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues), 2 Iestyn Harris (Cardiff Blues), 3 Rhys Henry (Ospreys), 4 Alun Lawrence (Cardiff Blues), 5 Max Williams (Dragons), 6 Tommy Reffell (Leicester Tigers, captain), 7 James Botham (Cardiff Blues), 8 Taine Basham (Dragons).

Replacements: 16 Will Griffiths (Dragons), 17 Josh Reynolds (Dragons), 18 Kemsley Mathias (Scarlets), 19 Rhys Davies (Bath), 20 Lennon Greggains (Dragons), 21 Harri Morgan (Ospreys), 22 Callum Carson (Ospreys), 23 Rio Dyer (Dragons).

Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top