RPNS7s: Exeter College claim Girls title as Loughborough end Hartpury dominance in AASE competition

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Exeter College won the Girls Cup at the 2018 Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s, while Loughborough College took the Girls AASE title.


It was a sensational victory for Loughborough as they ended the Hartpury College hegemony on this competition with a 14-7 victory over the Gloucestershire side in the final.


The two had been the class of the field, paired in the same group Hartpury had overcome Loughborough at that stage before a semi final win over SGS Filton College, but Loughborough had beaten Worthing College 27-10 in the other one.


Come the final, things were very tight indeed, and could have gone either way but for an interception. Loughborough stuck at it brilliantly though, making history by ending Hartpury’ grip on this prestigious title after so many years.


Over in the Girls, Amman Valley had a similar hold on the title, but they were knocked out at the quarter final stage by Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf.


The Welsh side would then beat Reigate Grammar 29-12 to reach the final. Exeter College meanwhile had strolled through their quarter final, ebating Clifton Colelge by a stunning 59-7 margin that marked them out as a side to watch.


They were given a huge test by a fantastic Blundell’s side in the semi finals though, just squeaking through by the skin of their teeth, 22-21.


That helped them for the final though, giving them a steeliness that saw them blow Glantaf away in the final, for a brilliant 24-7 win.


It capped a brilliant and exciting day of rugby across both girls tournaments, leaving plenty of us looking forward to next year!


Girls Final:


Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf 7-24 Exeter College


Girls Semi Finals:


Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf 29-12 Reigate Grammar

Exeter College 22-21 Blundell’s


Girls Quarter Finals:


Amman Valley 5-29 Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf

Coleg Gwent 15-17 Reigate Grammar

Clifton College 7-59 Exeter College

Pembrokeshire College 15-20 Blundell’s


Girls Final Group Standings:


Pos Group A Group B Group C Group D
1 Amman Valley Ysgol Gyfun Glantaf Coleg Gwent Reigate Grammar
2 Epsom College Christ’s Hospital Peter Symonds’ College Sir Thomas Picton
3 Trinity Gordon’s Simon Langton Grammar Oundle
4 Wellington College Pangbourne College St John’s Leatherhead Wisbech Grammar


Pos Group E Group F Group G Group H
1 Clifton College Exeter College Pembrokeshire College Blundell’s
2 Graveney Llandovery College Gower College KES Stratford
3 Benenden Stowe Caterham Weston College
4 Haileybury Sir William Borlase’s Perins Ysgol Gyfun Bryn Tawe


Girls AASE Final:


Hartpury College 7-14 Loughborough College


Girls AASE Semi Finals:


Hartpury College 32-14 SGS Filton College

Worthing College 10-27 Loughborough College


Girls AASE Final Group Standings:


Pos Group A Group B
1 Hartpury College Worthing College
2 Loughborough College SGS Filton College
3 Swedish Girls Coleg Sir Gar
4 Bishop Burton College NPTC Group
Leave a Response

Related Articles

Back to top