Sedbergh 10s: Top schools gather in Sedbergh for end of season finale

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

The top level school rugby keeps on coming, with the Sedbergh Super 10s taking place on Sunday and Monday.


The ten-a-side competition is the traditional finale to the school season, featuring some of the best teams in the country in an intense and festival-like format.


The hosts, Sedbergh, have even more reason than usual to be up for it. They are the reigning champions, the Daily Mail Trophy champions, and on Friday they performed exceptionally to become the Rosslyn Park HSBC National School 7s, so they will be desperate to win in order to hold on to that magnificent hat-trick of titles.


The format of the tournament sees the teams split into three groups, with five sides in two of the groups and four in the third.


The top two sides from each group are then split into two Cup groups, the winners of which will play in the final late on Monday afternoon. Those finishing second in those Cup groups will play for 3rd, while those finishing bottom of the Cup groups play off for 5th.


Those finishing outside of the top two in the opening day groups head to the Plate quarter finals, a straight knockout. The winners of those go to the Plate semi finals, while the losers head to the Plate semi finals.


Sedbergh have won a title in each of the last three years, winning the Cup in 2015 and 2017, while they picked up the Plate in 2016, they also have the reigning player of the tournament, Newcastle Falcons full back Josh Hodge who will surely being the hunt to make it back to back individual gongs.


The hosts are in group 1 alongside 2017 Bowl winners Stamford, Seaford College, Barnard Castle, and Abingdon.


Group 2 meanwhile sees their great rivals in the north, Kirkham Grammar School, who lost out to Sedbergh in the Rosslyn Park semi finals, KES Bath, St Peter’s York, Bristol Grammar School, and a Brighton College side that will be hugely motivated after they were disappointed to exit Rosslyn Park earlier than expected.


Group 3 meanwhile sees U18 Schools Cup finalists QEGS Wakefield joined by 2016 champions RGS High Wycombe, King’s Macclesfield, and the reigning Plate champions, Millfield.


The sheer quality of teams at the Sedbergh 10s is always impressive, and once again the line-up is outstanding and should see some truly spectacular rugby on show. Whoever wins it will have to play some outstanding rugby.


The whole tournament is live streamed, and you can find links to those Live Streams below.


Sedbergh 10s Day 1:


Sedbergh 10s Day 2:


Sedbergh Super 10s Groups:


Group 1 Group 2 Group 3
Abingdon Brighton College King’s Macclesfield
Barnard Castle Bristol Grammar Millfield
Seaford College KES Bath RGS High Wycombe
Sedbergh Kirkham Grammar QEGS Wakefield
Stamford St Peter’s, York
Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top