World Rugby U20 Championships: Ireland name squad for World Champs

HTML Image as link
Coach Logic

Ireland have named their squad for the forthcoming World Rugby U20 Championships in France.


The experienced Leinster forward Caelan Doris will captain the side, which is coached by Noel McNamara.


The tournament kicks off on Wednesday 30th May, and Ireland will begin against the host nation, France, in Perpignan. The two are in Pool C, alongside South Africa and Georgia, with Ireland playing South Africa on Sunday 3rd June, and Georgia on Thursday 7th June.


The winners of each group, plus the best second place team, then head to the semi finals on Tuesday 12th June, while the remaining two second place sides and the top two third place sides play the 5th-8th place semis, the remaining teams competing in the 9th-12th place semis.


The finals then take place on Sunday 17th June at the Stade de la Mediterranee in Beziers.


Speaking at the squad announcement to Irish Rugby, Head Coach Noel McNamara said:


“It’s an exciting time for the players and management as we prepare to head to the south of France for the U20 World Championships.”


“There’s a lot of talent in this squad and the players are all preparing well. We’re up against three physical sides in our pool, and with France up first, it will be a great test for the players on the opening day of the tournament and something that everyone is looking forward to.”


Ireland U20 Squad:



Matthew Agnew (Ballymena RFC/Ulster)

Jack Aungier (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

Diarmuid Barron (Garryowen FC/Munster)

Joe Byrne (Dublin University/Leinster)

Matthew Dalton (Malone RFC/Ulster)

Cormac Daly (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster, captain)

Jordan Duggan (Naas RFC/Leinster)

Jack Dunne (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Joe Dunleavy (Malone RFC/Ulster)

James French (UCC/Munster)

Aaron Hall (Ballynahinch RFC/Ulster)

Tom O’Toole (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

Jack O’Sullivan (UCC RFC/Munster)

Charlie Ryan (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Dan Sheehan (Dublin University FC/Leinster)



Harry Byrne (UCD RFC/Leinster)

Conor Dean (St. Mary’s College RFC/Leinster)

Dan Hurley (Garryowen FC/Munster)

James Hume (Banbridge RFC/Ulster)

Sean O’Brien (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

Hugh O’Sullivan (Clontarf FC/Leinster)

Tom Roche (Lansdowne FC/Leinster)

Michael Silvester (Dublin University FC/Leinster)

Jonny Stewart (QUB RFC/Ulster)

Peter Sylvester (UCC RFC / Munster)

Tommy O’Brien (UCD RFC/Leinster)

James McCarthy (UL Bohemian RFC/Munster)


Ireland U20 Fixtures:


Wednesday 30th May: v France, Perpignan, 8pm (BST)

Sunday 3rd June: v South Africa, Narbonne, 3.30pm (BST)

Thursday 7th June: v Georgia, Narbonne, 5.30pm (BST)

Tuesday 12th June: Semi Finals

Sunday 17th June: Finals, Beziers

Leave a Response

Related Articles




Back to top